Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

The STILL RX 70 Hybrid is the first diesel-hybrid forklift from serial production with electric power transmission

The RX 70 Hybrid is the most fuel efficient diesel forklift truck of its class.

The challenge in sustainability:

Rising energy prices, stricter emission regulations and a growing ecological consciousness give rise to a demand for more fuel efficient, low emission trucks in intralogistics. The idea is to deploy a technology that transforms kinetic energy into electric energy and which can be reused for propulsion.

The initial situation:

When braking, the brake system of the truck generates heat. The brake system needs to be cooled respectively. This applies especially to the operation of forklift trucks that brake. Hybridising the truck allows to reduce the fuel consumption.

The solution:

When accelerating, energy is transmitted form the electric energy storage to the electric drive motor and this reduces the work load of the diesel engine. STILL has developed an energy storage that can quickly collect and release the large quantities of energy of the drive consumes and produces. This energy storage consists of so called double layer capacitors (Ultracaps). These allow optimum use of the energy storage. Besides this, the power electronics needed to be adapted. The respective development was carried out by STILL as well.

The sustainable strengths:

In rough applications, the RX 70 Hybrid offers a 20 percent advantage with respect to the fuel consumption compared to a standard truck. Another means to reduce fuel consumption is a more efficient way to operate the diesel engine. This is achieved by shifting the performance and by deploying an engine with a lower nominal capacity (downsizing). Saving fuel makes better use of resources and fewer emissions reduce the environmental impact. Besides this, the truck is less noisy when accelerating, because the work load of the diesel engine is reduced by up to 30 percent, the engine speed can be reduced by up to 200 rpm.

The inventors:

STILL GmbH

Brief profile of the company:

Name: STILL GmbH
Headquarter:  Hamburg
Year established: 1920
Employees: over 7300
Solutions: STILL offers customised internal logistics worldwide. STILL implements the harmonised interplay of forklift trucks and warehouse equipment, software and services.
Internationality: 17 subsidiaries, 141 dealers and over 2,200 service points
URL: www.still.de

Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Der STILL RX 70 Hybrid ist der weltweit erste Serien-Hybrid-Dieselstapler mit elektrischer Kraftübertragung

Der RX 70 Hybrid ist der sparsamste Dieselstapler seiner Klasse

Die Herausforderung im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit:

Steigende Energiepreise, strengere Abgasbestimmungen und ein zunehmendes ökologisches Bewusstsein wecken auch in der Intralogistik den Bedarf nach sparsameren, schadstoffärmeren Fahrzeugen. Die Idee ist es, Bewegungsenergie durch entsprechende Technologie in elektrische Energie umzuwandeln und erneut für den Antrieb zu nutzen.

Die Ausgangssituation:

Beim Abbremsen des Staplers entsteht Wärme im Bremssystem. Das Bremssystem muss entsprechend gekühlt werden. Insbesondere beim Abbremsen, wie es bei Gabelstaplern häufig vorkommen kann. Durch Hybridisierung kann der Kraftstoffverbrauch abgesenkt werden.

Die Lösung:

Beim Beschleunigen wird Energie aus dem elektrischen Energiespeicher zum elektrischen Fahrmotor geleitet und damit der Dieselmotor entlastet. STILL entwickelte einen Speicher, der hohe Ströme schnell aufnehmen und wieder an den Antrieb abgeben kann. Dieser Speicher besteht aus sogenannten Doppelschichtkondensatoren (Ultracaps). Um den Energiespeicher optimal nutzen zu können, ist auch eine entsprechende Leistungselektronik erforderlich, die ebenfalls entwickelt werden mußte.

Die nachhaltigen Stärken:

Der RX 70 Hybrid bietet im harten Einsatz bis zu 20 Prozent Verbrauchsvorteil gegenüber dem Standardfahrzeug. Eine weitere Möglichkeit ist die effizientere Nutzung des Dieselmotors durch Verschiebung der Betriebsleistung sowie der Verwendung eines Motors mit geringerer Nennleistung (Downsizing). Dadurch werden Treibstoffressourcen geschont und geringere Abgasemissionen entlasten die Umwelt. Desweiteren beschleunigt das Fahrzeug leiser, da der Dieselmotor bis zu 30 Prozent entlastet wird und damit die Drehzahl um bis zu 200 Umdrehungen pro Minute reduziert werden kann.

Die Erfinder:

STILL GmbH

Kurzprofil des Unternehmens:

Name: STILL GmbH
Hauptsitz: Hamburg
Gründungsjahr: 1920
Mitarbeiter: über 7300
Lösungen: STILL bietet maßgefertigte innerbetriebliche Logistik weltweit. STILL realisiert das intelligente Zusammenspiel von  Gabelstaplern und Lagertechnik, Software, Dienstleistungen und Service.
Internationalität: 17 Landesgesellschaften, 141 Händler und über 2.200 Service-Stützpunkte
URL: www.still.de