Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Grippers with micro valves reduce energy consumption and cycle time

Integrated pneumatic valves lower compressed air consumption by up to 90 percent


The challenge in terms of sustainability:

When using pneumatic gripping modules in assembly automation, a large part of compressed air is wasted in the feed line with each cycle. The aim of the sustainability project was to implement a decentralized control unit directly at the actuator in order to minimize compressed air and energy consumption while shortening cycle times.

The original situation:

Compressed air is a common, but at the same time comparatively expensive medium within industrial automation. If it is wasted, it has a twofold effect on the energy balance: both the production of compressed air and the generation of electricity required for this results in losses that multiply themselves. This is applicable, for example, in assembly automation where pneumatic actuators are normally controlled via valve terminals. With every ventilation process, or at every cycle, compressed air in the feed line is lost completely. In a supply hose three meters long and four millimeters in diameter, air loss is about ten times higher than the consumption of a connected gripper for small components.

The solution:

Miniaturized pneumatic valves from SCHUNK, the leading expert for clamping technology and gripping systems, can be integrated directly into the gripper or connected with it as a mounting box. Without unfavorable interfering contours, this eliminates long feed lines between the valve and gripper that would have to be filled and emptied at each pressure change. Instead of the entire feed line, only the piston chamber of the actuator now has to be filled with compressed air during each cycle. For instance, when using the MPG-plus gripper for small components from SCHUNK, micro valves can reduce compressed air consumption by up to 12 Nm3 per day under realistic conditions, which is equivalent to 90 percent of the previous air consumption. If several grippers are installed in the system, this value increases accordingly. Moreover, micro valves help to speed up the reaction from actuators and reduce the energy required for electrical actuation.

The sustainable strengths:

Compared to centrally arranged control elements and long distribution paths, the decentralized pneumatic control unit provides enormous benefits. SCHUNK micro valves create a twofold effect here: they reduce energy consumption while allowing a high level of productivity at the same time.
The applicable BLUecoMPETENCE subject areas:
Please check. Multiple answers are possible.

The inventors:

The development department for gripping systems components has always been to minimize the goal of cycle times. From this setting out to create products that are optimal in terms of mass. With this basic idea was very quick and easy micro-valve series. These micro-valves can easily be mounted directly to pneumatic actuators and therefore very effective in reducing response times and energy costs.

About the company:

Name:  GAS Automation GmbH
(since 2012 a member of the SCHUNK GmbH & Co. KG)
Headquarters: St. Georgen
Established: 1984
Employees: 70
Solutions:  Valve technology, linear direct drives and standard and customized systems for electronics production
Internationality:  SCHUNK worldwide distribution network
URL:  http://www.gas-automation.de

Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Greifer mit Mikroventilen senken Energieverbrauch und Taktzeit

Integrierte Pneumatikventile verringern Druckluftverbrauch um bis zu 90 Prozent


Beim Einsatz pneumatischer Greifmodule in der Montageautomation geht mit jedem Zyklus ein großer Teil der Druckluft ungenutzt in der Zuleitung verloren. Ziel des Nachhaltigkeitsprojekts war es, eine dezentrale Ansteuerung unmittelbar am Aktor zu realisieren, so dass der Druckluft- und damit  der Energieverbrauch minimiert und zugleich die Taktzeiten verkürzt werden.


Die Herausforderung im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit:

Beim Einsatz pneumatischer Greifmodule in der Montageautomation geht mit jedem Zyklus ein großer Teil der Druckluft ungenutzt in der Zuleitung verloren. Ziel des Nachhaltigkeitsprojekts war es, eine dezentrale Ansteuerung unmittelbar am Aktor zu realisieren, so dass der Druckluft- und damit  der Energieverbrauch minimiert und zugleich die Taktzeiten verkürzt werden.


Die Ausgangssituation:

Druckluft ist in der industriellen Automatisierung ein gebräuchliches, aber auch vergleichsweise teueres Medium. Ihre Verschwendung schlägt in der Energiebilanz doppelt zu Buche: Sowohl bei der Erzeugung der Druckluft als auch bei der Erzeugung der dafür erforderlichen Elektrizität entstehen Verluste, die sich multiplizieren. Dies ist beispielsweise in der Montageautomation der Fall, wo pneumatische Aktoren in der Regel über Ventilinseln angesteuert werden. Mit jedem Entlüftungsvorgang, sprich bei jedem Takt, geht die Druckluft in der Zuleitung komplett verloren. Bei einem drei Meter langen Zuleitungsschlauch mit Durchmesser vier Millimeter ist der Luftverlust rund zehnmal höher als ein daran angeschlossener Kleinteilegreifer verbraucht.

Die Lösung:

Miniaturisierte Pneumatikventile des Kompetenzführers für Spanntechnik und Greifsysteme SCHUNK lassen sich unmittelbar in den Greifer integrieren oder als Anbaubox mit ihm verbinden. Ohne nachteilige Störkonturen entfallen auf diese Weise die langen Zuleitungen zwischen Ventil und Greifer, die bei jedem Druckwechsel befüllt und entleert werden müssten. Anstelle der gesamten Zuleitung wird bei jedem Takt nur noch der Kolbenraum des Aktors mit Druckluft gefüllt. Beim Einsatz des Kleinteilegreifers MPG-plus von SCHUNK beispielsweise können Mikroventile unter realistischen Bedingungen den Druckluftverbrauch um bis zu 12 Nm3 pro Tag reduzieren, was 90 Prozent des bisherigen Luftverbrauchs entspricht. Sind mehrere Greifer in der Anlage vorhanden, addiert sich dieser Wert entsprechend. Hinzu kommt, dass mithilfe der Mikroventile das Ansprechverhalten der Aktoren beschleunigt und der Energiebedarf zur elektrischen Ansteuerung verringert wird.

Die nachhaltigen Stärken:

Gegenüber zentral angeordneten Steuerelementen und langen Verteilungswegen bietet die dezentrale pneumatische Ansteuerung enorme Vorteile. Die Mikroventile von SCHUNK ermöglichen dabei einen doppelten Effekt: Sie senken den Energieverbrauch und bewirken zugleich eine höhere Produktivität.

Der Erfinder:

Die Entwicklungsabteilung für Komponenten bei Greifsystemen, hat schon immer zum Ziel, Zykluszeiten zu minimieren. Aus dieser Vorgabe heraus entstehen Produkte, die in Hinsicht auf Masse und Todzeiten optimal sind. Mit diesem Grundgedanken entstand die sehr schnelle und leichte Mikroventilbaureihe. Diese Mikroventile, können sehr einfach direkt an pneumatische Aktoren angebaut werden und reduzieren dadurch sehr effektiv Schaltzeiten und Energiekosten.


Kurzprofil des Unternehmens:

Name: GAS Automation GmbH (seit 2012 ein Unternehmen der SCHUNK GmbH & Co. KG)
Hauptsitz: St. Georgen im Schwarzwald
Gründungsjahr: 1984
Mitarbeiter: 70
Lösungen: Ventiltechnik, Lineardirektantriebe und Standard- und Sondersysteme für die Elektronikproduktion
Internationalität: Weltweit über SCHUNK Vertriebsnetz