Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

New cutting tools are combining ecology and economy

 

XChange, the world's first modular threading tap, is not only
environmentally friendly, it also drastically reduces manufacturing costs.

 

The challenge

Today, economy and ecology are still widely viewed as contradictory and that one excludes the other. However, at LMT TOOLS, tool development specialists are working to combine both requirements. On the one hand, high performance tools serve to increase user productivity. They must reduce manufacturing costs, but also maintain high quality and ensure process safety. On the other hand, the protection of valuable resources is a priority, such as electrical operating power, oil and the amount of cutting material used in general, especially the raw materials tungsten and cobalt.

The case study of the development of the threading tap is intended to demonstrate the implementation of this aim for other tools by way of example.

The initial situation

Threading taps currently used in industrial production are all one-piece. That is, the cutting part and the shank are made of one piece. This means once the tool life of the cutting part has been reached, the complete tool has to be disposed of. The development engineers therefore sought a solution by which only the actually worn part of the threading tap is unusable; the far greater part of the tool remains suitable for use. At the same time it was also necessary to ensure that the performance of the tools should not be reduced. On the contrary, the cutting speed, feed rate and tool life should be increased significantly.

The solution

Threading taps are nowadays mostly made of high-speed steel (HSS). This is because only this material has the required toughness and can thus prevent cutting edge breakage, especially during reverse motion of the tool. The price for this, however, is lower cutting and feed speeds. Higher cutting values can only be achieved with carbide tools, but with the disadvantage of lower toughness and, as a result, diminished process safety.
In response to this, the development engineers separated the function of the tool and also the entire tool at the same time. The cutting part was made of carbide and detachably connected to a high-speed steel shank. This marked the development of the "XChange", the world's first modular threading tap, which combines two advantages: the wear resistance of carbide with the toughness of high-speed steel.


Dry machining should, of course, also be possible as an option in order to avoid both harmful emissions of oil and to save costs. The new high performance coating "Polaris" has been specially developed for this purpose. Its color perfectly reflects the idea of Blue Competence: namely blue.

The sustainable strengths

Users in particular benefit from the advantages of this new tool, which includes: The reduction of the tool consumption by a considerably higher tool life by up to 500% compared to one-piece HSS threading taps, and by more than 30% compared to solid carbide threading taps. The reduction of the electrical operating power of the machine tool for machining by 50% by suitably reduced process times and the saving of coolant supply. This also reduces the oil consumption for machining by 100%. The reduction of the consumption of carbide and the raw materials tungsten and cobalt compared to one-piece carbide tools by 85%.

The combination of these factors has a significant impact on manufacturing costs. The tool costs for each thread created alone are reduced by 50% compared to HSS and by 20% compared to solid carbide.

The inventors

The modular threading tap XChange has been developed by a team of LMT TOOLS R&D specialists from LMT Fette, in cooperation with project partners from industry and institutions of higher aducation.

Brief profile of the company

Name: LMT Fette Werkzeugtechnik GmbH & Co. KG
Headquarters: Schwarzenbek, Germany
Year established: 1908
Employees: 450
Solutions: Tool systems and services for metal removal and forming of steel, non-ferrous material and plastics for all relevant branches of industry.
Internationality: 24 Sites and distribution partners abroad
URL: www.lmt-tools.com

Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Neue Zerspanungswerkzeuge vereinen Ökologie und Ökonomie

Weltweit erster modularer Gewindebohrer XChange ist umweltfreundlich und senkt die Fertigungskosten drastisch.

Die Herausforderung im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit:

Ökonomie und Ökologie werden heute vielfach noch konträr betrachtet: Es gibt oft nur ein Entweder-Oder. Bei der Werkzeugentwicklung der Firmengruppe LMT TOOLS wird jedoch das Ziel verfolgt, beide Anforderungen zu vereinen. Hochleistungswerkzeuge dienen einerseits der Produktivitätssteigerung des Anwenders. Sie sollen die Fertigungskosten senken bei hoher Qualität und Prozesssicherheit. Andererseits steht die Schonung wertvoller Ressourcen im Fokus, wie elektrische Antriebsenergie, Öl sowie der Verbrauch an Schneidstoff generell und insbesondere deren Rohstoffe Wolfram und Kobalt.
Am Beispiel der Entwicklung eines Gewindebohrers soll die Umsetzung dieses Zieles exemplarisch für andere Werkzeuge dargestellt werden.

Die Ausgangssituation:

Die heute in der industriellen Produktion eingesetzten Gewindebohrer sind alle einteilig. Schneidenteil und Schaft bestehen aus einem Stück. Wenn die Lebensdauer des Schneidenteils erreicht ist, muss das komplette Werkzeug entsorgt werden. Also suchten die Entwicklungsingenieure eine Lösung, bei der nur der wirklich verschlissene Teil des Gewindebohrers ersetzt werden muss, der weitaus größere Werkzeugteil aber weiter verwendet werden kann. Dabei durfte aber die Leistungsfähigkeit der Werkzeuge nicht schwinden, sondern ganz im Gegenteil: Schnittgeschwindigkeit, Vorschub und Standzeit sollten erheblich ansteigen.

Die Lösung:

Gewindebohrer bestehen heute meistens aus Schnellstahl, weil nur dieser Werkstoff die geforderte Zähigkeit aufweist und somit Schneidenausbrüche, insbesondere beim Rücklauf der Werkzeugs, verhindern kann. Der Preis dafür sind aber geringere Schnitt- und Vorschubgeschwindigkeiten. Höhere Schnittwerte sind nur mit Hartmetallwerkzeugen realisierbar, jedoch mit dem Nachteil geringerer Zähigkeit und damit schwindender Prozesssicherheit.

Also haben die Entwicklungsingenieure die Funktion des Werkzeugs und auch gleich das ganze Werkzeug geteilt. Der Schneidenteil wurde aus Hartmetall hergestellt und lösbar mit einem Schaft aus Schnellstahl verbunden. Es entstand der weltweit erste modulare Gewindebohrer „XChange", der zwei Vorteile kombiniert: Die Verschleißfestigkeit des Hartmetalls mit der Zähigkeit des Schnellstahls.

Natürlich sollte auch die Möglichkeit der Trockenbearbeitung bestehen, um sowohl gesundheitsschädliche Ölemission zu vermeiden als auch Kosten zu sparen. Dafür ist u.a. die neue Hochleistungsbeschichtung „Polaris" entwickelt worden. Ihre Farbe ist ganz im Sinne von Blue Competence, nämlich blau.

Nachhaltige Stärken:

Von den Stärken dieses neuen Werkzeugs profitieren vor allem die Anwender: Reduzierung des Werkzeugverbrauchs durch erheblich höhere Standzeit um bis zu 500% gegenüber einteiligen HSS-Gewindebohrern und um mehr als 30% gegenüber einteiligen VHM-Gewindebohrern. Reduzierung der elektrischen Antriebsenergie der Werkzeugmaschine für die Zerspanung um 50% durch entsprechend verkürzte Prozesszeiten und Einsparung der Kühlmittelversorgung. Dadurch auch Reduzierung des Ölverbrauchs für die Zerspanung um 100%. Reduzierung des Hartmetallverbrauchs und dessen Rohstoffe Wolfram und Kobalt gegenüber einteiligen VHM-Werkzeugen um 85%.

Diese Einflüsse kumuliert wirken sich erheblich auf die Fertigungskosten aus. Allein die Werkzeugkosten pro erzeugtem Gewinde sinken um 50% gegenüber HSS und um 20% gegenüber VHM.

Der Erfinder:

Die Entwicklung des modularen Gewindebohrers XChange erfolgte von einem F&E-Expertenteam der LMT TOOLS im Hause LMT Fette, gemeinsam mit Projektpartnern aus Industrie und Hochschule.

Kurzprofil des Unternehmens:

Name: LMT Fette Werkzeugtechnik GmbH & Co. KG
Hauptsitz: Schwarzenbek
Gründungsjahr: 1908
Mitarbeiter: 450
Lösungen: Werkzeugsysteme und Werkzeugservice zur spanenden und spanlosen Bearbeitung von Stahl, NE-Metall und Kunststoff in allen relevanten Industriebranchen.

Internationalität: Standorte und Vertriebspartner in 24 Ländern