Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Servo-electric Long-Stroke Grippers: Adaptable and energy-efficient

The adaptable mechatronic gripper EGA from SCHUNK provides for maximum flexibility at minimum energy consumption

The challenge in terms of sustainability:

Anyone who wants to produce different product variants economically, and at a minimum of resource consumption, requires particularly flexible system concepts. In this connection mechatronic gripping modules receive a key role. In the framework of the initiative "Mechatronik3," SCHUNK has released a complete module program for mechatronic solutions, which comprises simple yet adaptable electric grippers, and grippers with integrated intelligence.

The starting situation:

For decades, pneumatically actuated gripping systems have been continuously optimized. The design features and the mechanics are now fully matured. Commissioning and maintenance are often very easily solved that even operators with little expert knowledge can quickly manage them. Due to the increasing parts variation in many industries though they will soon reach their limits. In the future, more modules will be required here, which cover different parts ranges frequently.      

The solution – the sustainable technology/project/service:

The mechatronic long-stroke gripper EGA allows a flexible design of handling processes. It offers considerable scopes for the introduction of new products, sizes, or varieties in configuration. With adaption possibilities for all current servo motors, it can be very easily integrated into existing open and closed-loop control electronics as well as – directly interpolated as an additional axis. In other words it can be controlled with the identical instruction set as the subordinated robot. Moreover, the features of the system's control unit, with regard to programming, safety, or field busses can be directly used. The guidance cages of its base jaws are supported on balls, thus minimizing the friction, and optimally distributing the force so that the EGA is consistently precise, and disposes of a long service life. Compared with conventional, pneumatic long-stroke grippers, the direct energy consumption of the EGA is reduced by 75%, depending on the number of cycles. If the opposite is needed, there is a 15% energy savings for moving the gripper.

Sustainable strengths:

In applications with high parts variation, the mechatronic EGA offers clear advantages: It covers a broad spectrum of parts, and particularly lowers the energy or CO2  consumption in case of high number of cycles.

The inventor:

The SCHUNK R&D department for standard gripping systems always sees themselves as a pioneer in the field of efficient solutions for handling and assembly. In the course of 30 years, the world's largest product portfolio for standard grippers was developed (more than 10,000 components). Combined with the vast system programs for clamping technology SCHUNK offers a unique synergy of both business units on the market.

Short profile of the company:

Name: SCHUNK GmbH & Co. KG
Headquarters: Lauffen/Neckar
Founding year: 1945
Number of employees: 2,000
Solutions:

  • System program gripping systems: gripping, rotary, and linear modules, robot accessories, components for modular assembly automation, and gripping system's solutions.
  • Mobile gripping systems
  • System program clamping technology: toolholding systems, stationary workholding, lathe chucks, chuck jaws, hydraulic expansion technology special solutions, and magnetic clamping technology
  • Laser technology

Internationality: 26 subsidiaries abroad
URL: www.schunk.com

Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Servoelektrischer Großhubgreifer: Anpassungsfähig und energieeffizient

Der adaptierbare Mechatronikgreifer EGA von SCHUNK ermöglicht maximale Flexibilität bei minimalem Energieverbrauch

Die Herausforderung im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit:

Wer unterschiedliche Produktvarianten wirtschaftlich und zugleich mit minimalem Ressourcenverbrauch produzieren will, braucht besonders flexible Anlagenkonzepte. Mechatronischen Greifmodulen kommt in diesem Zusammenhang eine Schlüsselrolle zu. Im Rahmen der Initiative „Mechatronik3" hat SCHUNK ein komplettes Modulprogramm für mechatronische Lösungen aufgelegt, das einfache elektrische Greifer ebenso umfasst wie adaptierbare Module sowie Greifer mit integrierter Intelligenz.

Die Ausgangssituation:

Pneumatisch angetriebene Greifsysteme wurden über Jahrzehnte hinweg kontinuierlich optimiert. Sowohl konstruktiv als auch mechanisch sind sie voll ausgereift. Inbetriebnahme und Wartung sind meist so einfach gelöst, dass auch Bediener ohne umfassende Fachkenntnisse schnell damit klar kommen. Aufgrund der in vielen Branchen zunehmenden Teilevarianz stoßen sie dennoch zum Teil an Grenzen: Hier werden künftig immer häufiger Module gefragt sein, die ohne Umrüstaufwand unterschiedlichste Teilespektren abdecken.      

Die Lösung:

Der mechatronische Großhubgreifer EGA ermöglicht eine flexible Gestaltung von Handhabungsprozessen. Er bietet erhebliche Spielräume bei der Einführung neuer Produkte, Baugröße oder Ausstattungsvarianten. Mit Adaptionsmöglichkeiten für alle gängigen Servomotoren lässt er sich in bestehende Steuer- und Regelungselektronik besonders einfach einbinden. So kann er beispielsweise als zusätzliche Achse direkt interpoliert, sprich mit dem identischen Befehlssatz angesteuert werden wie beispielsweise der übergeordnete Roboter. Zudem können die Eigenschaften der Anlagensteuerung hinsichtlich Programmierung, Safety oder Feldbussen direkt genutzt werden. Die Führungswägen seiner Grundbacken sind auf Kugeln gelagert, wodurch die Reibung minimiert und die Kraft optimal verteilt wird. Auf diese Weise ist der EGA dauerhaft präzise und verfügt über eine lange Lebensdauer. Verglichen mit konventionellen pneumatischen Großhubgreifern sinkt der direkte Energieverbrauch beim Einsatz des EGA abhängig von der Zyklenzahl um bis zu 75 %. Berücksichtigt man zusätzlich den indirekten, also zur Bewegung des Greifers erforderlichen Energiebedarf, ist je nach Anwendung eine Gesamtenergieersparnis von durchschnittlich 15 % möglich.

Die nachhaltigen Stärken:

In Anwendungen mit einer hohen Teilevarianz bietet der mechatronische EGA deutliche Vorteile: Er deckt ein breites Teilespektrum ab und senkt insbesondere bei hohen Zyklenzahlen deutlich den Energie- bzw. CO2-Verbrauch. Hinzu kommen eine hohe Präzision und eine lange Lebensdauer.

Die Erfinder:

Die SCHUNK-Entwicklungsabteilung Standardgreifsysteme versteht sich seit jeher als Vorreiter im Bereich effizienter Lösungen für Handhabung und Montage. Im Laufe von 30 Jahren entstand auf diese Weise das weltweit größte Produktprogramm für Standardgreifer (über 10000 Komponenten). In Verbindung mit den umfassenden Systemprogrammen in der Spanntechnik bietet SCHUNK eine am Markt einzigartige Synergie aus beiden Bereichen. 

Kurzprofil des Unternehmens:

Name: SCHUNK GmbH & Co. KG
Hauptsitz: Lauffen/Neckar
Gründungsjahr: 1945
Mitarbeiter: 2000
Lösungen:

  • Systemprogramm Greifsysteme: Greifmodule, Drehmodule, Linearmodule, Roboterzubehör, Komponenten für die Modulare Montageautomation, Greifsystemlösungen.
  • Mobile Greifsysteme
  • Systemprogramm Spanntechnik: Werkzeughaltersysteme, Stationäre Spannsysteme, Drehfutter, Spannbacken, Hydro-Dehnspanntechnik Sonderlösungen und Magnettechnik
  • Lasertechnik

Internationalität: 26 Tochtergesellschaften im Ausland
URL: www.schunk.com