Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Step by step towards more energy efficiency

Having successfully implemented the EFF1 energy efficiency class with new motors compliant to IE2/IE3 and excelling by a higher drive side effectiveness, the next step is to focus on the drive controllers inside the electrical cabinets.

The challenge with regard to sustainability:

For Grenzebach the use of frequency inverters has been self-evident as they allow energy savings up to 70 % compared to uncontrolled drives. (Source: KEM special edition S2 10.2011)
In addition, the Siemens made SINAMICS Active Line Module (ALM) now allows to buffer excessive motor braking energy in a controlled link circuit instead of „burning" it in the brake resistor. This link circuit, also powered by the ALM, then holds available the power to all drives connected to it.
If more energy is fed back to the link circuit than can be consumed, this recovered energy may even be returned to the customer's power network.
Special-purpose motors not compatible with the SINAMICS ALM control module shall in future have special capacitor modules instead of brake resistors to buffer the brake energy and to make it available again in the acceleration stage.

The initial situation:

Grenzebach not only focus on quality and innovation but also put energy awareness center stage.
As committed handling system supplier to the solar industry and as energy producer with a 470 kW solar power station topping the workshops of the Hamlar headquarters.
Grenzebach strives for advancement and continues improving its products – for which the motor control system is a good example. From the former primitive contactor controls via the controlled drives towards intelligent systems, which even manage energy. Either in form of energy recycling, consequent energy saving or the automatic switch-off of plant sections, which are not used. The times, when current was "burnt" in brake resistors have now significantly changed.

The solution:

Other considerable energy savings can be achieved through a consistently implemented Grenzebach standby concept for machine automation. Unused conveyor elements for example are stopped after a specific idle time to reduce unnecessary idle running and thus to avoid unnecessary energy consumption. Intelligent material flow controllers trigger such sections of plant in time to ensure reliable material conveyance. This approach spares the equipment and saves resources.

The sustainable strengths:

Grenzebach estimate that, depending on the processing line architecture, all of these measures allow to save up to 10 % energy operating costs. Considering that a float glass line has an average connected load of 250 kW and a solar module facility even up to 500 kW, the savings potential is obvious. This new Grenzebach innovation is a real surplus value for the operating company.

The inventors:

Engineering Team of Grenzebach Group

Brief profile of the company:

Name: Grenzebach Maschinenbau GmbH
Headquater: Asbach-Bäumenheim / Hamlar in Bayern
Year of foundation: 1960
Employees: 1500 worldwide / Headquaters Hamlar 500
Solutions: We design, manufacture and deliver fabrication lines and components for the production and processing of flat glass and building panels, for processing of gypsum from raw material to finished plasterboard and special equipment for cutting and drying of veneers. Further spheres of competence are production technology for display glass including clean room applications, technology for thin-film photovoltaic modules, process technology for Concentrated Photovoltaics (CPV) and Concentrated Solar Power (CSP) with Fresnel Mirrors . Grenzebach also provides automation systems for various industries as well as baggage handling equipment for airports and our Grenzebach FlightSim, the new robot-based flight simulator.
Many years of experience in mechanical and electrical plant engineering and sophisticated plant controls, designed within the Grenzebach group, guarantee optimum line functioning. Various process and optical quality inspection systems and a comprehensive spectrum offered by our Competence Center Service complement our product range. We develop, implement and integrate customized solutions for automation and optimization of complex processes. The focus of our solutions is on handling, conveyor technique, flow of material and intralogistics, complemented by high-performance, custom-made controls and components for transport and handling systems in various industries.
Internationality: World-wide with 5 manufacturing locations in the USA, China and Germany and 15 branch offices all around the globe.
URL: www.grenzebach.com

Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Schritt für Schritt zu mehr Energieeffizienz

Nach der erfolgreichen Einführung der Energieeffizienzklasse EFF1 mit den neuen Motoren nach IE2/IE3, welche sich durch bessere Wirkungsgrade auf Antriebsseite auszeichnen, folgt nun die nächste Stufe im Bereich der Antriebsregler im Schaltschrank.

Die Herausforderung im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit:

Der Einsatz von Frequenzumrichtern ist bei Grenzebach seit je her selbstverständlich. Durch ihren Einsatz lassen sich gegenüber ungeregelten Antrieben bis zu 70% Energieeinsparung erreichen (Quelle: KEM Sonderheft S2 10.2011).


Zusätzlich wird nun mit dem SINAMICS – Aktive Line Modul (ALM) von SIEMENS überschüssige Motorbremsenergie in einen geregelten Zwischenkreis gepuffert. Dieser vom ALM ebenfalls gespeiste Zwischenkreis steht dann allen anderen im Verbund befindlichen Antrieben für die Entnahme wieder zur Verfügung.
Wird mehr Energie in den Zwischenkreis zurückgegeben als verbraucht wird, so wird diese dann sogar in das Kundennetz zurückgespeist.


Spezielle Antriebe die nicht mit dem SINAMICS ALM-Modul angesteuert werden können, werden in Zukunft anstelle der Bremswiderstände mit speziellen Kondensatormodulen ausgerüstet, die ihrerseits wiederum die Bremsenergie speichern, um sie dann in der Beschleunigungsphase wieder abgeben zu können.

Die Ausgangssituation:

Neben Qualität und Innovationen, legt Grenzebach schon immer sehr viel Wert auf Energiebewusstsein und -effizienz. Ob das Engagement bei der Erstellung von Handlingssystemen in der Solarbranche oder auch das eigene Solarkraftwerk mit 470KW auf den Dächern ihrer Fertigungshallen am Stammwerk Hamlar.
Grenzebach entwickelt sich und seine Produkte weiter - das sieht man auch am Beispiel der Motorsteuerung. Von der ehemals primitiven Schützsteuerung hin zu geregelten Antrieben bis zu intelligenten Systemen, welche Energie managen. Sei es in Form von Energiewiederverwertung, konsequenter Einsparung oder dem automatischen Abschalten von nicht benutzen Anlagenteilen. Die Zeiten in denen Strom in Bremswiderständen „verheizt" wird, haben sich wesentlich geändert.

Die Lösung:

Durch konsequente Umsetzung einer Grenzebach Standby-Philosophie in der Anlagenautomatisierung können weitere erhebliche Energieeinsparungen erzielt werden. So werden z.B. nicht benötigte Fördereinrichtung ab einer gewissen Zeit in den Stillstand geschalten und unnötiger Anlagenleerlauf und somit Energieaufnahme vermieden. Intelligente Materialflusscontroller aktivieren diese Anlagenteile rechtzeitig wieder, um zuverlässigen Materialtransport zu gewährleisten. Dieses Verfahren schont Anlage und Ressourcen.

Die nachhaltigen Stärken:

Die Fa. Grenzebach schätzt dass durch all dieser Maßnahmen je nach Anlagenkonstellation bis zu 10% der elektrischen Betriebskosten eingespart werden können. Wenn man bedenkt, dass eine Floatglasanlage im Mittel 250KW und eine Solarmodulanlage sogar bis zu 500 KW Anschlusswert hat, ist gut erkennbar, wie hoch das Einsparpotential sein kann. Ein echter Mehrwert für den Betreiber.

Die Erfinder:

Das Konstruktionsteam der Grenzebach Gruppe

Kurzprofil des Unternehmens:

Name: Grenzebach Maschinenbau GmbH
Hauptsitz: Asbach-Bäumenheim / Hamlar in Bayern
Gründungsjahr: 1960
Mitarbeiter: 1500 gruppenweit / Standort Hamlar 500
Lösungen:  Wir planen, fertigen und liefern komplette Anlagen und Einzelkomponenten für die Herstellung und Bearbeitung von Flachglas und Baustoffplatten, für die Verarbeitung von Rohgips zur fertigen Gipsbauplatte sowie Messermaschinen und Trockner für Furniere. Weitere Kompetenzen sind Fertigungs-technik für Displayglas unter Reinraumbedingungen, Technologie für Dünnschicht-Photovoltaikmodule, Linien zur Herstellung von CPV Modulen und CSP Fresnel Spiegeln, Verfahrenstechnik und Automatisierungssysteme für unterschiedliche Industriebereiche, Gepäckhandling für Flughäfen sowie den ersten roboter-basierten Flugsimulator. Ergänzt wird dieses Produktspektrum durch Anlagen zur Prozessüberwachung und Qualitätsinspektion sowie durch ein umfangreiches Angebot unseres Kompetenzzentrums Service.
Internationalität: Weltweit mit 5 Fertigungsstandorten in den USA, China und Deutschland und 15 Niederlassungen rund um den Globus
URL: www.grenzebach.com