Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Optimised lifting hydraulics save up to 20% in fuel

Demand-based control of lifting hydraulics in forklift trucks brings about greater energy efficiency and higher levels of sustainability and environmental protection.

The challenge in terms of sustainability:

How can forklift trucks contribute towards achieving the goal of greater energy efficiency and therefore sustainability? Linde Material Handling considers this question afresh during each truck development process and with roadworthy prototypes and field tests has proven that alternative drive concepts promise increased efficiency in the future. However, due to high investment costs, hybrid and fuel-cell trucks are not yet profitable for the majority of customers. The conventional drivetrain with internal combustion engine and driving and lifting hydraulics does, however, offer further potential for improvement — with excellent profitability, which pays off financially for customers.

The initial situation:

The aim of Linde MH was, and indeed still is, to utilise this potential. The European market leader can build on the already very efficient and economical hydrostatic drive unit, which functions without a manual gearbox, differential or brake.
For the hydraulic work functions of a forklift truck, gear pumps with a constant displacement volume are normally used. The disadvantage of this is that the lifting hydraulics pump is linked directly to the engine speed and therefore always pumps hydraulic oil depending on the engine speed. During haulage when a high engine speed is required, for example, the maximum hydraulic oil quantity is circulated unnecessarily. This is known as a circulation loss. Finding a way of minimising this loss was the challenge presented to the Linde MH development team.

The solution:

When redesigning the Linde H40–H50 diesel truck series, Linde MH turned its attention to the lifting hydraulics and the optimum connection between the internal combustion engine and the lifting hydraulics.
The solution was an adjustable axial piston pump with variable displacement volume, developed in-house. With a variable displacement pump, the oil volume can be controlled and oil is only pumped as required. The electronic control system perfectly adapts the oil volume flow rate supplied by the pump to the usage requirements. Thanks to an "oversizing" of the pump with a greater oil displacement volume, the maximum lifting speed is reached at lower engine speed. Depending on the load, the drive motor now only requires 1600 to 2300 rpm, as opposed to the previous requirement of 2800 rpm, to reach the top lifting speed.

The sustainable strengths:

With the new variable displacement pump, the truck user can save energy — especially when lifting without a load or in the part-load operational range, i.e. loads below the rated capacity. More energy is saved the lower the weight of the load in comparison to the rated capacity of the truck and the more frequently empty lifts or lifts in the part-load operational range occur. Overall, fuel consumption and pollutant emissions are not only reduced, but the truck is also quieter when in operation.

Linde MH performed series of tests at the premises of various customers in the field and determined that the new drive concept reduces fuel consumption by up to 20%. The energy cost savings were equal to approx. EUR 1 per operating hour. A pleasing outcome is that the operating company does not suffer in terms of performance and productivity. Quite the opposite: The pump is controlled by the input signal and responds directly to the driver's commands and therefore to the electronic control system. This results in a lower energy consumption with the same performance.

The customer once again reaps the rewards, because all the expert knowledge in hydraulics is available in-house at Linde MH, as the integration of hydraulics and truck expertise plays an essential part in achieving such considerable reductions in consumption with the new drive concept.

Reductions in consumption of up to 20% with the same productivity, less noise, lower exhaust emissions and reduced wear are arguments to be considered when deciding what device to buy. At the same time, these factors make a positive contribution to a sustainable, environmentally friendly economy.  

The inventors:

The variable displacement pump with internal designation MPR50 was developed by Linde under the direction of Dr. Rolf Lasaar.

Brief profile of the company:

Name: Linde Material Handling GmbH
Headquarters: Aschaffenburg
Year established: 1904
Employees: 12,240 employees worldwide (2010)
Solutions: World's second-largest manufacturer of industrial trucks
Internationality: Worldwide
URL: www.linde-mh.com

Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Optimierte Hub-Hydraulik spart bis zu 20% Kraftstoff

Die bedarfsgerechte Ansteuerung der Hubhydraulik bei Gabelstaplern bringt größere Energieeffizienz und sorgt für mehr Nachhaltigkeit und Umweltschutz.

Die Herausforderung im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit:

Welchen Beitrag können Gabelstapler leisten, um das Ziel einer größeren Energieeffizienz und damit Nachhaltigkeit zu erreichen? Linde Material Handling beschäftigt sich mit dieser Frage bei jeder Fahrzeugentwicklung aufs Neue und hat mit fahrbereiten Prototypen und in Feldversuchen bewiesen, dass alternative Antriebskonzepte für die Zukunft weitere Effizienzsteigerungen versprechen. Aufgrund hoher Investitionskosten rechnen sich Hybrid- oder Brennstoffzellenstapler für den überwiegenden Teil der Kunden heute allerdings noch nicht. Doch auch der konventionelle Antriebsstrang mit Verbrennungsmotor sowie Fahr- und Hubhydraulik bietet noch Verbesserungspotenzial – und dies bei gegebener sehr guter Wirtschaftlichkeit, die sich für den Kunden finanziell rechnet.

Die Ausgangssituation:

Ziel von Linde MH war und ist es deshalb, dieses Potenzial zu nutzen. Dabei kann Europas Marktführer auf den bereits sehr effizienten und sparsamen hydrostatischen Fahrantrieb aufbauen, der ohne Schaltgetriebe, Differential und Bremse auskommt.
Für die hydraulischen Arbeitsfunktionen eines Gabelstaplers verwendet man üblicherweise Zahnradpumpen mit konstantem Fördervolumen. Der Nachteil ist, dass die Hubhydraulikpumpe direkt an die Motordrehzahl gekoppelt ist und somit immer in Abhängigkeit der Motordrehzahl Hydrauliköl fördert. Beispielweise wird bei einem Streckentransport, bei dem eine hohe Motordrehzahl benötigt wird, zwangsläufig die maximale Hydraulikölmenge umgewälzt, obwohl kein Bedarf vorhanden ist. Man spricht dabei von so genannten Umlaufverlusten. Diese zu minimieren, war die Herausforderung an das Entwicklungsteam von Linde MH.

Die Lösung:

Linde MH richtete das Augenmerk beim Facelift der Dieselstapler-Baureihe Linde H40 bis H50 auf die Hubhydraulik sowie auf die optimale Verknüpfung von Verbrennungsmotor und Hubhydraulik.
Die Lösung wurde in einer im eigenen Haus entwickelten, verstellbaren Axialkolbenpumpe mit variablem Fördervolumen gefunden. Bei einer Verstellpumpe ist die Ölmenge regelbar und Öl wird nur bei Bedarf gefördert. Die elektronische Ansteuerung passt den von der Pumpe gelieferten Ölvolumenstrom optimal den Einsatzanforderungen an. Durch ein „Oversizing" der Pumpe mit größerem Ölfördervolumen wird zudem die maximale Hubgeschwindigkeit schon bei niedrigerer Drehzahl erreicht. Statt bisher bei 2800 U/min benötigt der Antriebsmotor jetzt lastabhängig nur noch 1600 bis 2300 U/min für das Erreichen der vollen Hubgeschwindigkeit.

Die nachhaltigen Stärken:

Mit der neuen Verstellpumpe kann der Stapler-Anwender insbesondere bei Heben ohne Last oder im Teillastbereich, d.h. bei Lasten unter Nenntragfähigkeit, Energie sparen. Die Energieersparnis ist umso größer, je geringer das Gewicht der Last im Vergleich zur Nenntragfähigkeit des Staplers ist und je öfter Leerhübe oder Hübe im Teillastbereich im jeweiligen Einsatz vorkommen. Insgesamt sinken aber nicht nur Kraftstoffverbrauch und Schadstoffausstoß, sondern das Gerät arbeitet auch leiser.

Linde MH hat bei unterschiedlichen Feldkunden Testreihen durchgeführt und festgestellt, dass das neue Antriebskonzept den Kraftstoffverbrauch bis zu 20 Prozent reduziert. Die Energiekostenersparnis beträgt dadurch ca. 1€ je Betriebsstunde. Das Angenehme dabei: Der Betreiber muss keine Einbußen in Bezug auf Leistung und Produktivität in Kauf nehmen. Im Gegenteil: Die Pumpe „hängt" am Eingangssignal und reagiert direkt auf die Befehle des Fahrers und somit der elektronischen Ansteuerung. Dies führt bei gleicher Leistung zu geringerem Energieverbrauch.

Wieder einmal profitiert der Kunde davon, dass bei Linde MH die Hydraulikkompetenz im eigenen Hause vorhanden ist. Denn die Integration von Hydraulik- und  Fahrzeugkompetenz ist ein wesentlicher Grund dafür, dass mit dem neuen Antriebskonzept eine so beachtliche Verbrauchsreduzierung erreicht werden konnte.

Verbrauchssenkungen von bis zu 20 Prozent bei gleichbleibender Produktivität, geringere Geräusche und Abgasemissionen sowie verminderter Verschleiß sind Argumente, die bei Kaufentscheidungen eine entscheidende Rolle spielen. Gleichzeitig leisten sie einen positiven Beitrag zu nachhaltigem, umweltgerechten Wirtschaften.

Die Erfinder:

Die Verstellpumpe mit der internen Bezeichnung MPR50 wurde im Hause Linde unter der Leitung von Herrn Dr. Rolf Lasaar entwickelt.

Kurzprofil des Unternehmens:

Name: Linde Material Handling GmbH
Hauptsitz: Aschaffenburg
Gründungsjahr: 1904
Mitarbeiter: 12240 Mitarbeiter weltweit (2010)
Lösungen: Weltweit zweitgrößter Hersteller von Flurförderzeuge
Internationalität: Weltweit
URL: www.linde-mh.com