Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

No backing paper waste

How manufacturers and retailers preserve the environment by using linerless labels.

The challenge in terms of sustainability:

The goal of the Bizerba project was to develop a printer and a label which can work without conventional backing paper thereby reducing waste and saving resources and protecting the environment.

The initial situation:

Standard labels require silicone backing paper: They run through a labeling machine where they finally move over a blade-shaped edge. The labels come off the backing paper which can now be applied to the product. Problem: This process results in a significant amount of waste. John Public, our average manufacturer replaces a label roll of each printer about 2000 times a year. Each printer produces 1000 kg of backing paper waste.

The solution:

Linerless technology does not need backing paper The labels contain a special surface refinement so they will stick on top of each other on the roll. In order for the GLP printer to be able to process these labels, Bizerba developed a linerless version with adapted printer assembly and cut-off blade.

The sustainable strengths:

Linerless technology will save resources and will be an important part of future sustainable product packaging. Manufacturers and retailers will be able to save backing paper waste at an average of 1000 kilograms per year and printer.

Further benefits of linerless technology:

  • Protection of resources since label manufacturers and suppliers do not manufacture backing paper
  • Therefore, 40 percent more labels per roll resulting in less storage space and reduced set-up times (average savings of 18 hours per year)
  • Only one material for all label sizes. No material waste since the printer will cut to length each label
  • Protection of resources also in respect of the printer since the printer housing is significantly smaller

The inventors:

The linerless solution protecting the environment is the result of successful teamwork: The Bizerba label production facility in Bochum developed linerless label technology and the experts of our industrial division developed the new GLP printer.

Brief profile of the company:

Name: Bizerba GmbH & Co. KG
Headquarters: Balingen
Year established: 1866
Employees: > 3.500
Solutions: Weighing, labeling, information and foodservice technologies.
Internationality:  Production facilities: Vienna (Austria), Mendrisio (Switzerland), Milan (Italy), Shanghai (China), Joppa (USA) and San Luis Potosi (Mexico). Worldwide Bizerba is represented in 120 countries – with 41 shareholdings in 23 countries and 54 country representations.
URL:  www.bizerba.com

Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Kein Trägerband-Abfall

Wie Produzenten und Händler mit Linerless-Etiketten die Umwelt schonen

Die Herausforderung im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit

Ziel des Bizerba Projektes war es, einen Drucker und ein Etikett zu entwickeln, welche auf klassisches Trägerband verzichten können und durch die entsprechende Müllersparnis Umwelt und Ressourcen schonen. 

Die Ausgangssituation

Traditionell benötigen Etiketten ein Trägerband aus Silikon: Sie durchlaufen eine Auszeichnungsmaschine, die sie schließlich über eine klingenförmige Kante streift. Dabei löst sich das Etikett vom Trägerband, so das es auf das Produkt geklebt werden kann. Das Problem: Durch diesen Prozess entstehen massive Müllberge. Herr Mustermann, unser durchschnittlicher Produzent, wechselt jährlich auf jedem Drucker rund 2000-mal die Etikettenrolle. Er verursacht mit jedem Drucker einen 1000 Kilogramm schweren Müllberg aus gebrauchtem Trägerband. 

Die Lösung

Die Linerless-Technik verzichtet auf Trägerband: Stattdessen sind die Etiketten mit einer speziellen Oberflächenveredelung versehen, so dass sie auf der Rolle schichtweise aufeinander haften. Damit der manuelle Drucker GLP diese Etiketten verarbeiten kann, hat Bizerba eine Linerless-Ausführung entwickelt, bei der Druckwerk und Schneidmesser angepasst sind.

Die nachhaltigen Stärken

Die Linerless-Technik ist besonders ressourcenschonend und wird in Zukunft ein bedeutender Bestandteil nachhaltiger Produktverpackungen sein. Produzenten und Händler sparen den Müll, der normalerweise mit dem Trägerband anfällt – pro Jahr und pro Drucker sind das im Durchschnitt 1000 Kilogramm.

Weitere Vorteile der Linerless-Technik:

  • Ressourcenschutz, da Etikettenhersteller bzw. Zulieferer kein Trägerband produzieren
  • 40 Prozent mehr Etiketten pro Rolle, dadurch weniger Lagerfläche und kürzere Rüstzeiten notwendig (durchschnittliche Ersparnis von 18 Stunden pro Jahr)
  • Nur ein Material für alle Etikettengrößen. Keine Materialverschwendung, denn der Drucker schneidet die Etikettenlänge auf jedes Produkt individuell zu
  •  Ressourcenschutz auch beim Drucker selbst, denn sein Gehäuse ist deutlich kleiner

Der Erfinder

Die umweltschonende Linerless-Lösung ist das Resultat einer gelungenen Teamarbeit: Das Bizerba Etikettenwerk in Bochum hat das Linerless-Etikett entwickelt, Experten der Division „Industry" den neuen GLP-Drucker.

Kurzprofil des Unternehmens

Name: Bizerba GmbH & Co. KG
Hauptsitz: Balingen
Gründungsjahr: 1866
Mitarbeiter: >3.500
Lösungen: Wäge-, Etikettier-, Informations- und Food-Service-Technik.
Internationalität: Produktionsstätten: Wien (Österreich), Mendrisio (Schweiz), Mailand (Italien), Shanghai (China), Joppa (USA) und San Luis Potosi (Mexiko). Weltweit ist Bizerba in über 120 Ländern präsent – mit 41 Beteiligungen in 23 Ländern und 54 Landesvertretungen.
URL: www.bizerba.com