Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Light, Dynamic, Energy-Efficient: Gripping Module made of CFC

The CGH Long-Stroke Gripper from SCHUNK has a low weight with a lot of power

The challenge in terms of sustainability:

The energy requirement and dynamics of automated solutions largely depend on the weights to be handled. While the weight of the part itself could vary, the handling sys-tems themselves still offer enormous potentials in weight reduction. The aim of the efficiency project "Blue Sigma" from SCHUNK  is to reduce the weight of the long-stroke gripper, and to increase its compact performance.

The starting situation:

Due to its specific characteristics, the use of aluminum has proved successful for manufacturing grippers, rotary modules, and linear axes for a long time, and has proven itself in regard to weight, longevity, strength, surface quality, loading capacity, and machina- bility. In comparison, the lighter and stronger carbon fiber composites were not able to establish themselves as a viable alternative, since expensive manufacturing equipment was required to machine it.

 The solution – the sustainable technology/project/service:

There are three important starting points for reducing the weight of gripping modules: Material saving at the housing, smaller, but more powerful sizes, as well as the use of lighter materials. SCHUNK has managed to combine all three aspects with the design of the CGH Long-Stroke-Gripper: The gripper housing has been manufactured using the RTM process and has been designed according to specific stress requirements. The results are a light and rigid gripper, which has a corresponding torsional stiffness. The module is equipped with a decoupled re-circulating ball carriage, achieving enormous efficiency, and about 90% of the used energy arrives at the finger. Since the stroke can be freely scaled, cycle times and compressed air consumption can be also minimized. Compared with equally powerful long-stroke grippers made of aluminum, the gripper weight of the CGH is much lower, and therefore the energy requirement for moving the gripper is reduced by more than 80%. Moreover, the compressed air consumption is reduced by more than 40%. Another bonus is that due to the low mass of the gripper, modules may be designed smaller and more energy-efficient.

Sustainable strengths:

Compared with conventional long-stroke grippers, the CGH light-weight gripper from SCHUNK consumes less energy/CO2. Users also benefit from reduced cycle times and from the possibility of alternately handling components of different sizes.

The inventor:

The SCHUNK R&D department for standard griping systems always sees themself as a pioneer in the field of efficient solutions for handling and assembly. In the course 30 years, the world's largest product portfolio for standard grippers developed (more than 10000 components). Combined with the vast system programs for claming technology,  SCHUNK offers a unique synergy of both business units on the market.

 

Short profile of the company:


Name: SCHUNK GmbH & Co. KG
Headquarters: Lauffen/Neckar
Founding year: 1945
Number of employees: 2000
Solutions:

  • System program gripping systems: gripping, rotary, and linear modules, robot accessories, components for modular assembly automation, and gripping system's solutions.
  • Mobile gripping systems
  • System program clamping technology: toolholding systems, stationary workholding, lathe chucks, chuck jaws, hydraulic expansion technology special solutions and magnetic clamping technology
  • Laser technology

Internationality: 26 subsidiaries abroad

URL: www.schunk.com

Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Leicht, dynamisch, energieeffizient: Greifmodule aus CFK

Der Großhubgreifer CGH von SCHUNK hat ein geringes Gewicht und zugleich jede Menge Power.

Die Herausforderung im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit:

Der Energiebedarf und die Dynamik von Automationslösungen hängen maßgeblich von den zu handhabenden Lasten ab. Während das Teilegewicht in der Regel vorgegeben ist, stecken in den Handhabungssystemen zum Teil noch enorme Potenziale zur Gewichtsreduktion. Im Rahmen des Effizienzprojekts „Blue Sigma" hat sich SCHUNK zum Ziel gesetzt, das Gewicht von Großhubgreifern zu reduzieren und zugleich deren Leistungsfähigkeit zu erhöhen.

Die Ausgangssituation:

Aufgrund seiner spezifischen Eigenschaften hat sich Aluminium bei Greifern, Drehmodulen und Linearachsen seit langem als Werkstoff bewährt. Es überzeugt hinsichtlich Gewicht, Langlebigkeit, Festigkeit, Oberflächenbeschaffenheit, Belastbarkeit und Zerspanbarkeit. Hingegen konnten sich die deutlich leichteren und zugfesteren Kohlefaserverbundwerkstoffe bislang nicht als Alternative etablieren, da für deren Verarbeitung andere, bislang sehr kostenintensive, Fertigungstechnologien erforderlich waren.           

Die Lösung:

Um das Gewicht von Greifmodulen zu senken gibt es drei wesentliche Ansatzpunkte: Materialeinsparungen am Gehäuse, kleinere, dafür aber leistungsdichtere Baugrößen sowie der Einsatz leichterer Werkstoffe. Beim Großhubgreifer CGH hat SCHUNK alle drei Aspekte verwirklicht: Indem das im RTM-Verfahren hergestellte CFK-Greiferge-häuse beanspruchungsgerecht ausgelegt wurde, war es möglich, einen leichten und zugleich außerordentlich biege- und torsionssteifen Greifer zu realisieren. Aus-gestattet mit entkoppelten Kugelumlaufwägen erreicht das Modul einen enormen Wirkungsgrad, so dass rund 90 % der eingesetzten Energie am Finger ankommen. Indem sich der Hub beliebig skalieren lässt, können Taktzeiten und Druckluftverbrauch zusätzlich minimiert werden. Verglichen mit leistungsgleichen Großhubgreifern aus Aluminium sinken sinkt das Greifergewicht, und damit der zur Bewegung des Greifers erforderliche Energiebedarf, bei Einsatz des CGH um über 80 %. Zudem reduziert sich der Druckluftverbrauch um über 40 %. Aufgrund der geringeren Masse des Greifers können auch die Module der übergeordneten Anlage kleiner und energieeffizienter ausgelegt werden.

Die nachhaltigen Stärken:

Verglichen mit konventionellen Großhubgreifern verbraucht der Leichtbaugreifer CGH von SCHUNK deutlich weniger Energie/CO2. Anwender profitieren zusätzlich von reduzierten Taktzeiten und von der Möglichkeit, unterschiedlich große Teile im Wechsel zu handhaben.
Die betreffenden BLUecoMPETENCE Themen-Bereiche:
Bitte ankreuzen. Mehrfachnennungen sind möglich.
Die beschriebene Innovation…

Die Erfinder:

Die SCHUNK-Entwicklungsabteilung Standardgreifsysteme versteht sich seit jeher als Vorreiter im Bereich effizienter Lösungen für Handhabung und Montage. Im Laufe von 30 Jahren entstand auf diese Weise das weltweit größte Produktprogramm für Standardgreifer (über 10000 Komponenten). In Verbindung mit den umfassenden Systemprogrammen in der Spanntechnik bietet SCHUNK eine am Markt einzigartige Synergie aus beiden Bereichen.

Kurzprofil des Unternehmens:

Name: SCHUNK GmbH & Co. KG
Hauptsitz: Lauffen/Neckar
Gründungsjahr: 1945
Mitarbeiter: 2000
Lösungen:

  • Systemprogramm Greifsysteme: Greifmodule, Drehmodule, Linearmodule, Roboterzubehör, Komponenten für die Modulare Montageautomation, Greifsystemlösungen.
  • Mobile Greifsysteme
  • Systemprogramm Spanntechnik: Werkzeughaltersysteme, Stationäre Spannsysteme, Drehfutter, Spannbacken, Hydro-Dehnspanntechnik Sonderlösungen und Magnettechnik
  • Lasertechnik

Internationalität: 26 Tochtergesellschaften im Ausland

URL: www.schunk.com