Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Foundry machinery

Know-how for sustainable solutions

New approaches are making many things possible when it comes to casting today. The sector's main consumers such as the automotive industry are among the drivers of innovation. For example, following the trend for lightweight design in vehicle construction, techniques have been developed for casting lighter parts from cast iron, from aluminium or from magnesium instead of using heavier materials.

If weight advantages in vehicles lead to lower levels of fuel consumption, manufacturers of foundry machines have helped to achieve this. But sustainability is also always a primary focus for companies in the sector very directly. New technologies and concepts maximise the energy efficiency, availability, safety and environmental compatibility of their facilities.

When it comes to energy efficiency, for instance, many levers are being set in motion: The automation of various casting processes forms part of this. The same is true of energy-optimised components which only operate when they are actually needed.

Ergonomics and safety at the workplace are other key issues. This is because heat, noise and hazardous substances demand a special level of care and attention at the workplaces in foundries. The manufacturers of foundry machines play a leading role in the development of European safety standards.

Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Gießereimaschinen

Know-how für nachhaltige Lösungen

Neue Wege machen heute beim Gießen vieles möglich. Hauptabnehmer der Branche wie die Automobilindustrie gehören dabei zu den Innovationstreibern. Dem Leichtbau-Trend im Fahrzeugbau folgend wurden beispielsweise Techniken entwickelt, leichtere Teile aus Gusseisen, aus Aluminium oder aus Magnesium an Stelle von schwereren Materialien zu gießen.

Wenn Gewichtsvorteile bei Fahrzeugen zu geringerem Kraftstoffverbrauch führen, haben Hersteller von Gießereimaschinen also mit dazu beigetragen. Aber auch ganz direkt ist Nachhaltigkeit immer im Fokus der Branche. Neue Technologien und Konzepte maximieren Energieeffizienz, Verfügbarkeit, Sicherheit und Umweltverträglichkeit ihrer Anlagen.

Beim Thema Energieeffizienz etwa, werden viele Hebel in Bewegung gesetzt: Die Automatisierung verschiedener Gießverfahren gehört dazu. Genauso wie energieoptimierte Komponenten, die nur dann in Betrieb sind, wenn sie benötigt werden.

Ergonomie und Sicherheit am Arbeitsplatz sind weitere Themen. Denn Hitze, Lärm und Gefahrstoffe erfordern bei den Arbeitsplätzen in Gießereien besondere Aufmerksamkeit. Die Hersteller von Gießereimaschinen sind federführend an der Entwicklung europäischer Sicherheitsnormen beteiligt.