Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

For SICK, environmental protection is no transient fashion fad

For SICK, environmental protection is no transient fashion fad

Innovative in-house production technologies, products for sustainable and resource-conserving processes with its customers – SICK delivers an important contribution towards conservation of our environment through its portfolio and its range of services.

The fact that environmental conservation and the efficient use of raw materials mean far more to SICK than some flight of fashion is borne out by a look back over the history of the company: its founder, Erwin Sick, tackled the issue of sensor solutions for environmental protection back in early fifties of the last century and, among other things, he developed sensors for measuring dust levels in industrial smokestacks. Since those early days, SICK has never ceased developing its portfolio and building on the environment-oriented expertise that informs its problem-solving approach to customer requirements.

Products that help to build efficient and sustainable processes

Sustainability and environmental protection are clearly documented as cornerstones of SICK company policy. The development and manufacture of products involves the use of innovative production technologies and the economical use of raw materials, energy and water. The sensors themselves deliver convincingly low energy consumption levels but also, by virtue of their reliability and intelligence, have the potential to optimize processes in the machines and systems used by end customers. This in turn enables gigantic amounts of energy and resources to be saved. By way of example, volume measurement systems from SICK are able to measure packages of any shape or size precisely and quickly. For one of the largest logistics service providers in Germany, SICK has developed a globally unique combined volume measurement and identification system that can be used to achieve optimum utilization of load bay space. This customer set itself the target, through the use of SICK technology, to cut its CO2 emissions by more than half by 2020.

In the label application process, SICK employs a new kind of technology involving the use of markless sensors. The special feature of this is that the sensor used to position the labels is able to function without the colored marks normally required, and this can achieve up to a 5% saving on materials for each label. In mass applications, that means that up to 1.5 million meters of label material can be saved annually on each system.

SICK sensors are also used in applications involving efficiency enhancement through the sourcing of energy from renewables. One example of this would be the encoder which helps solar panels to track the position of the sun, meaning that as much solar power as possible can be obtained. Encoders are also the units that measure the rotor speeds of a wind power system and adjust their rotor blades to reflect prevailing wind conditions, thereby ensuring optimum 'harvesting' of wind power. Light barriers (PE cell applications) and vision sensors from SICK are in widespread use assisting resource-conserving manufacturing processes and procedures.

Furthermore, the functional characteristics of SICK products can make an important contribution towards environmental protection. Power stations and garbage incinerator plants employ SICK analyzer systems to monitor flue gases. In addition, through optimization of process parameters, the emission of pollutants can be minimized.

SICK committed to the VDMA initiative 'Blue Competence'

As a participant in the VDMA sustainability initiative 'Blue Competence,' SICK is deploying its products and solutions far beyond company boundaries to assist in the goal of protecting the environment. The aim of this initiative is to draw together the expertise of various sectors of the mechanical engineering industry and to create sustainable solutions to protect the environment, solutions that chime equally well with economy, ecology and society.

All of this goes to show that SICK has the expertise to make a contribution towards environmental protection with its products – a claim that is firmly anchored in company policy.

www.sick.com/environmental_protection

Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Für SICK ist Umweltschutz kein Modetrend

Für SICK ist Umweltschutz kein Modetrend

Innovative Fertigungstechnologien im Haus, Produkte für nachhaltige und ressourcenschonende Prozesse bei den Kunden – SICK leistet mit seinem Portfolio und seinen Lösungen einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Schonung unserer Umwelt.

Dass der Schutz der Umwelt und der effiziente Umgang mit Rohstoffen für SICK kein Modetrend sind, beweist der Blick in die Geschichte: Unternehmensgründer Erwin Sick hat sich bereits Anfang der 50er-Jahre des letzten Jahrhunderts mit Sensorlösungen für den Umweltschutz befasst und u. a. Sensoren zur Staubmessung an Industrieschornsteinen entwickelt. Seit dieser Zeit haben sich bei SICK das Portfolio wie auch das umweltorientierte Know-how zur Problemlösung ständig weiterentwickelt.

Mit Produkten Prozesse effizient und nachhaltig gestalten

In der Unternehmenspolitik von SICK besitzen Nachhaltigkeit und Umweltschutz einen hohen, verbrieften Stellenwert. Die Entwicklung und Herstellung der Produkte erfolgt mittels innovativer Fertigungstechnologien unter sparsamem Einsatz von Rohstoffen, Energie und Wasser. Die Sensoren selbst überzeugen nicht nur durch einen geringen Energieverbrauch, sondern besitzen durch ihre Zuverlässigkeit und Intelligenz das Potenzial, in den Maschinen und Anlagen der Endkunden Prozesse zu optimieren und so riesige Energiemengen und Ressourcen einzusparen. So sind beispielsweise Volumenmesssysteme von SICK in der Lage, Pakete jeglicher Form exakt und schnell zu vermessen. Für einen der größten Logistikdienstleister Deutschlands hat SICK ein weltweit einzigartiges kombiniertes Volumenmess- und Identifikationssystem entwickelt, mit dessen Hilfe es möglich ist, eine optimale Laderaumausnutzung zu erreichen. Der Kunde hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, mit der SICK-Technologie bis zum Jahr 2020 den CO2-Ausstoß um mehr als die Hälfte zu reduzieren.

Für die Applikation des Etikettierens wendet SICK mit den Markless-Sensoren eine neuartige Technologie an. Das Besondere daran ist, dass der Sensor zur Positionierung der Etiketten ohne die standardmäßig sonst erforderlichen Druckmarken auskommt und dadurch bis zu 5 Prozent Material pro Etikett einsparen kann. In Massenapplikationen lassen sich so pro Jahr und Anlage bis zu 1,5 Mio. Meter Etikettenmaterial einsparen.

SICK-Sensoren kommen auch dann zum Einsatz, wenn es um die Steigerung der Effizienz bei der Energiegewinnung aus regenerativen Quellen geht. Ein Beispiel sind Encoder, mit deren Hilfe Solarpanels mit dem Sonnenstand mitgeführt werden, sodass möglichst viel Sonnenenergie gewonnen werden kann. Encoder sind es auch, die Rotordrehzahlen einer Windkraftanlage messen und deren Rotorblätter entsprechend der Windverhältnisse so verstellen, dass eine optimale Ausbeute an Windenergie gewährleistet ist. Lichtschranken und Vision-Sensoren von SICK unterstützen vielerorts ressourcenschonende Herstellungsprozesse und Verfahren.

Darüber hinaus leisten die Produkte von SICK über ihre Funktion einen wichtigen Beitrag zum Umweltschutz. Kraftwerke und Müllverbrennungsanlagen setzen Analysensysteme von SICK zur Abgasüberwachung ein. Ergänzend wird durch die Optimierung der Prozessparameter der Ausstoß von Schadstoffen minimiert.

SICK in VDMA-Initiative „Blue Competence" engagiert

Als Teilnehmer der Nachhaltigkeitsinitiative „Blue Competence" des VDMA engagiert sich SICK mit seinen Produkten und Lösungen über die Unternehmensgrenzen hinaus für den Umweltschutz. Ziel der Initiative ist die Bündelung von Know-how verschiedener Industriezweige des Maschinenbaus und das Schaffen nachhaltiger Lösungen zum Schutz der Umwelt im Einklang mit Ökonomie, Ökologie und Gesellschaft.

Dies alles zeigt: SICK hat die Kompetenz, mit seinen Produkten einen Beitrag zum Umweltschutz zu leisten – ein Anspruch, der fest in der Unternehmenspolitik verankert ist.

www.sick.com/umweltschutz