Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

BluAstrum reduces energy consumption in refrigeration

Ammonia chillers for applications in industry and in building HVAC

The challenge in terms of sustainability:

In refrigeration, the objective is to provide useful energy under application of a minimum of primary energy: i.e., with maximum efficiency. In the past, however, efficiency has chiefly been considered under operational conditions of full load. The current viewpoint has, in contrast, focused on the case of partial load, which is in fact highly relevant in actual practice. In addition, users are increasingly demanding refrigeration systems that operate with natural refrigerants – since synthetic refrigerants and their leakage can contribute to depletion of the ozone layer and to environmental warming.

The initial situation:

In many industrial operations, refrigeration equipment with synthetic refrigerants (FKW / HFKW) is being operated in which continued use is expensive or forbidden – or which should be replaced by modern machines owing to lack of efficiency. Examples here are older plants that are still using R22. Investors and operators of industrial refrigeration plants, and of HVAC-equipped buildings, expect efficient and environmentally friendly refrigeration components.

The solution:

GEA Grasso BluAstrum is the name of a range of screw chillers with great efficiency and compact dimensions. This simplifies the replacement of old plants, since  BluAstrum can be delivered to the installation point through standard doors. This range operates with the natural refrigerant ammonia, which has no ozone-depletion potential and does not contribute to environmental warming. Owing to its material properties, ammonia is one of the most efficient refrigerants. BluAstrum is designed for refrigerant outlet temperatures of -15 to 15 °C. A key element of the BluAstrum is newly developed, efficient screw compressors. Owing to the compressor speed-control range between 1,000 and 4,500 rpm, and the so-called Vi setting, they operate with outstanding performance and with good efficiency at partial and full loads. The feasible energy-efficiency ratio (ERR) is accordingly up to 5.2. The elimination of an oil pump also contributes to efficient use of the electrical energy used by the new compressor. Long-life bearings and advanced processing methods for the rotors minimize maintenance expense and positively influence life-cycle costs. The new compressor range is planned to include six models within the performance range of 500 to approx. 1,800 kW. The first model available on the market has refrigeration capacity of around 1,000 kW for HVAC applications. The BluAstrum range enables bridging the gap between HVAC solutions and industrial applications: both with use of an old yet future-oriented refrigerant: ammonia. With its long service life, outstanding manufacturing processing, quiet operation, and best-possible graduation adaptation in operation, the BluAstrum is optimally suited for use in continuous industrial operation as well as for the seasonal requirements of building HVAC.

The sustainable strengths:

In addition to its enhancement of energy efficiency and use of natural ammonia as refrigerant, the BluAstrum is characterized by its small footprint (1,000 kW cooling capacity on 5 m²). It is therefore well suited as replacement for older or inefficient plant equipment. For new facilities, it requires comparatively little surface area, with smaller constructed space – which minimizes building and building-operation costs or which, conversely, enlarges the usable space available. Thanks to the noise-suppressing enclosure, low-maintenance operation, and simple delivery and installation, BluAstrum is also outstandingly suited for the HVAC of larger buildings: e.g., office complexes and multi-purpose halls. It is highly convincing here with its good partial-load efficiency. Thanks to frequency-controlled compressor-speed control, and the Vi setting, BluAstrum achieves a European Seasonal Energy Efficiency Ratio (ESEER) of 8. Its energy efficiency is the state of the engineering art and is among the very best on the market. BluAstrum chillers make a sustainable contribution to energy and cost savings in industrial refrigeration.

The inventors:

GEA Refrigeration Technologies
GEA Refrigeration Technologies, part of the internationally active GEA Group, is a synonym for industrial refrigeration technology. Starting as long ago as the end of the 19th century, it has been our business to cool processes and products and to temperature-control transported goods. You will find our solutions in the food and beverage sectors; in the petrochemical, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries; on fishing ships; in natural gas liquefaction; in infrastructure facilities; and in ice plants. We have likewise gained the best experience for refrigeration in leisure facilities. In fact: refrigeration has been our passion for many decades. As a result, our colleagues are enthusiastically at work in development and production – as well as in the preventive and remedial maintenance of your refrigeration equipment.

Brief profile of the company:

Name: GEA Refrigeration Technologies
Headquarters: Bochum, Germany
Year established: 1896
Employees: 3,147
Solutions: refrigeration components and solutions
Internationality: global
URL: www.gearefrigeration.com

Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

BluAstrum verringert Energieverbrauch bei der Kälteerzeugung

Ammoniak-Flüssigkeitskühlsatz für den Einsatz in der Industrie und in der Gebäudeklimatisierung

Die Herausforderung im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit:

Bei der Kälteerzeugung soll die Bereitstellung der Nutzenergie unter Einsatz von möglichst wenig (Primär-)Energie erfolgen, d.h. mit maximaler Effizienz. In der Vergangenheit wurde bei der Effizienzbetrachtung jedoch vornehmlich der Wirkungsgrad bei Volllast betrachtet. Die heutige Sichtweise rückt den in der Praxis relevanten Teillastfall in den Mittelpunkt. Zudem sind immer häufiger Anlagen gefordert, die mit natürlichen Kältemitteln arbeiten, da synthetische Kältemittel bei der Herstellung und durch ihre Leckagen zum Abbau der Ozonschicht bzw. zur Erderwärmung beitragen können.

Die Ausgangssituation:

In vielen Industriebetrieben sind Kältemaschinen mit synthetischen Kältemitteln (FKW / HFKW) vorhanden, deren Weiterbetrieb teuer (oder verboten) ist oder die aufgrund mangelhafter Effizienz durch moderne Maschinen ersetzt werden sollen. Beispiele hierfür sind ältere Anlagen, die noch das Kältemittel R22 verwenden. Investoren und Betreiber von Industriekälteanlagen als auch von zu klimatisierenden Gebäuden wünschen effiziente und umweltfreundliche kältetechnische Komponenten.

Die Lösung:

GEA Grasso BluAstrum ist der Name einer Baureihe von Schrauben-Flüssigkeitskühlsätzen mit hoher Effizienz und kompakten Abmessungen. Dies erleichtert den Ersatz alter Anlagen, da der BluAstrum grundsätzlich durch Standardtüren eingebracht werden kann. Die Baureihe arbeitet mit dem natürlichen Kältemittel Ammoniak, das kein Ozonabbaupotenzial hat und nicht zur Erderwärmung beiträgt. Ammoniak ist auf Grund seiner Stoffdaten eines der effizientesten Kältemittel. BluAstrum eignen sich für Kälteträgeraustrittstemperaturen von -15 °C bis 15 °C. Wesentliches Element des BluAstrum sind neu entwickelte, effiziente Schraubenverdichter. Aufgrund ihrer Drehzahlregelung zwischen 1000 bis 4500 U/min und der sogenannten Vi-Verstellung lassen sie sich hervorragend und mit guten Wirkungsgraden bei Teil- und Volllast betreiben. Der erreichbare EER (Energy Efficency Ratio) beträgt danach bis zu 5,2. Zur effizienten Verwendung der eingesetzten Elektroenergie am neuen Verdichter trägt auch der Verzicht auf eine Ölpumpe bei. Langlebige Lager und modernste Bearbeitungsmethoden der Rotoren minimieren den Wartungsaufwand und beeinflussen die Lebenszykluskosten positiv. Die neue Serie soll sechs Modelle im Leistungsbereich von 500 kW bis etwa 1800 kW umfassen. Das erste am Markt erhältliche Modell hat bei Klimabedingungen eine Kälteleistung von etwa 1000 kW. Die Baureihe ermöglicht den Spagat zwischen Klimalösung und Industrieanlage, beides unter Verwendung eines alten, aber hochmodernen Kältemittels - Ammoniak. Technisch ausdauernd, hervorragend verarbeitet, leise und optimal abgestuft ist der BluAstrum dem Einsatz im dauerhaften Industriebetrieb ebenso gewachsen wie der saisonal geforderten Gebäudeklimatisierung.

Die nachhaltigen Stärken:

Neben einer Steigerung der Energieeffizienz und der Verwendung des natürlichen Kältemittels Ammoniak zeichnet sich der BluAstrum durch seine geringe Stellfläche aus (1000 kW Kälteleistung auf 5 m²). Er eignet sich daher gut als Ersatz für ältere oder ineffiziente Anlagen. Bei neuen Objekten benötigt er vergleichsweise wenig Fläche, so dass der umbaute Raum klein ausfallen kann, was Gebäude- und Gebäudebetriebskosten minimiert oder umgekehrt die Nutzfläche vergrößert. Dank seiner schalldämmenden Einhausung, des wartungsarmen Betriebs und der einfachen Einbringung eignet sich der BluAstrum auch für das Klimatisieren von größeren Gebäuden, etwa Büroobjekten oder Veranstaltungshallen. Hier überzeugt er mit gutem Teillastwirkungsgrad: Dank der frequenzgesteuerten Verdichterdrehzahlregelung und Vi-Verstellung werden ESEER-Werte (European Seasonal Energy Efficiency Ratio) von 8 erreicht. Seine Energieeffizienz ist Stand der Technik und mit die Beste am Markt. BluAstrum Chiller sind ein nachhaltiger Beitrag zu Energie- und Kosteneinsparung in der industriellen Kältetechnik.
Die betreffenden BLUecoMPETENCE Themen-Bereiche:
Bitte ankreuzen. Mehrfachnennungen sind möglich.

Die Erfinder:

GEA Refrigeration Technologies
Die GEA Refrigeration Technologies, Teil der weltweit tätigen GEA Group, ist ein Synonym für industrielle Kältetechnik. Schon seit Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts ist es unser Geschäft, Prozesse und Produkte zu kühlen oder Transportgut zu temperieren. Unsere Lösungen finden Sie in der Lebensmittel- und Getränkebranche, in der petrochemischen, chemischen und pharmazeutischen Industrie, auf Fangschiffen, in der Erdgasverflüssigung oder im Infrastrukturwesen und in Eisfabriken. Auch mit der Kältetechnik für Freizeitstätten kennen wir uns bestens aus. Denn für uns ist Kälte seit Jahrzehnten Passion. Mit Leidenschaft sind daher unsere Mitarbeiter in der Entwicklung und Fertigung bei der Sache und ebenso bei der Instandhaltung und Wartung Ihrer kältetechnischen Anlagen.

Kurzprofil des Unternehmens:

Name: GEA Refrigeration Technologies
Hauptsitz: Bochum
Gründungsjahr: 1896
Mitarbeiter: 3.147
Lösungen: Kältetechnische Komponenten und Lösungen
Internationalität: weltweit
URL: www.gearefrigeration.com