Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Energy-saving dealcoholisation

A clever arrangement of thermal process within the evaporation and in connection with other plants reduces consumption of primary energy drastically

The new plant design for the dealcoholisation of beer with Wiegand technology using a mechanical vapour recompressor saves more than 50 % of energy compared to conventional process designs.

Challenge in terms of sustainability:

Non-alcoholic wheat beer and other alcohol-reduced beverages are the trend. In the production usually thermal separation processes such as for example evaporation and distillation are used. Usually, the evaporators are directly heated by live steam, and therefore are energy-intensive processes. The consumption of primary energy can be drastically reduced by a clever arrangement of the thermal process within the evaporation and in connection with other plants.

Initial situation:

Under steady-state operating conditions of the directly heated evaporation plant, 1 kg/h of live steam will be required for 1kg/h of water evaporation. In multi-effect plants, the ratio is reduced accordingly. A 2-effect plant now requires only half of the live steam for the same amount of water evaporation since the evaporated vapour of the first effect is used to heat the second effect. Today, evaporation plants for the dealcoholisation of beer are designed as multi-effects plants depending on the capacity, but in all cases the evaporated vapour flow will subsequently condense and its energy contents will thus be lost to a large extent.

Solution:

Mechanical vapour recompression allows to return this energy flow into the process compressing the vapour to a higher pressure and thus to a higher energy contents. The vapours are returned into the heating chamber of the evaporator where they condense on the evaporator tubes. The energy released during this process indirectly heats the product. Such a plant does not require any live steam during operation any more, but only a considerably small amount of electrical energy for the compressor. In addition, single-stage centrifugal fans are used as vapour recompressors to further minimize energy consumption. The specific energy requirement of a falling film evaporation plant with mechanical vapour recompression amounts to 8 to 30 kWh per 1000 kg of evaporated water, depending on the specific application - which at any rate is at least 50 % less than the energy requirement of conventionally heated plants. This plant design has long been state-of-the-art for evaporation plants for liquid food products. The special challenge of the use of this technology for dealcoholisation is the high volatility of alcohol as well as the presence of inert gases (e. g. carbon dioxide) that impede the complete condensation of the vapours in the heating chamber. For this reason, the use of mechanical vapour compression, in particular with fans, was difficult and uneconomic in this case. With the new technological design by  Wiegand it is possible to recover heat from the evaporator vapours in an energy-efficient manner so that they can be reused to heat the evaporator. GEA Wiegand filed the patent application for the new design.

Sustainable strengths:

The new plant design with mechanical vapour recompressions saves more than 50 % of energy compared to conventional processes. Energy consumption, and thus the environmental impact are reduced thanks to the use of mechanical vapour recompression.
Moreover, the dealcoholisation process in evaporation plants with temperature-sensitive treatment ensures an alcohol-free beverage product which is perfect in terms of taste and flavour. In its magazine, edition 06/2010, the German consumer association Stiftung Warentest recognized and nominated a non-alcoholic wheat beer produced with Wiegand technology as the test winner.

Brief profile of the company:

Name: GEA Wiegand GmbH
Head office: Ettlingen
Year of foundation: 1948
Number of employees: 210
Solutions: GEA Wiegand is one of the prominent manufacturers of plants of thermal-mechanical process engineering with core competences in evaporation, distillation, membrane filtration, gas scrubbing and steam jet pumps and vacuum systems.
The range of delivery and services includes consultation, planning, calculation, design, manufacture, delivery, quality control, commissioning and after sales service, plant extension and energy optimization.
GEA Wiegand has its own research and development centre with numerous laboratories and pilot plants.

Internationality: The company, incorporated in the GEA Group AG, sells its products world-wide via a well-organized network of own societies, sales offices and agencies.

URL: www.gea-wiegand.de

Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Energiesparend entalkoholisieren

Geschicktes wärmetechnisches Verschalten der Eindampfanlage in sich und im Verbund mit anderen Anlagen senkt Energiebedarf drastisch

Das neue Anlagenkonzept zur Entalkoholisierung von Bier mit Wiegand Technologie unter Einsatz eines mechanischen Brüdenverdichters spart über 50 Prozent an Energie im Vergleich zu herkömmlichem Verfahren.

Die Herausforderung im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit:

Alkoholfreies Weizenbier und andere alkoholreduzierte Getränke liegen im Trend. Bei der Herstellung werden üblicherweise thermische Trennverfahren wie z. B. Verdampfung und Destillation eingesetzt. Die Eindampfanlagen werden in der Regel mit Frischdampf direkt beheizt und zählen daher zu den energieintensiven Verfahren. Durch geschicktes wärmetechnisches Verschalten der Eindampfanlage in sich und im Verbund mit anderen Anlagen kann der Bedarf an Primärenergie drastisch gesenkt werden.

Die Ausgangssituation:

Im stationären Fall der direkt beheizten Eindampfanlage gilt dass für 1 kg/h Wasserverdampfung 1 kg/h Frischdampf benötigt wird. Bei mehrstufigen Anlagen reduziert sich das Verhältnis entsprechend. Eine 2-stufige Anlage benötigt nun nur noch die Hälfte des Frischdampfbedarfs für die gleiche Menge an Wasserverdampfung, da der ausgedampfte Brüden der ersten Stufe zur Beheizung der zweiten Stufe genutzt wird. Eindampfanlagen zur Entalkoholisierung von Bier werden zwar heute je nach Kapazität mehrstufig ausgeführt, aber in allen Fällen wird der ausgedampfte Brüdenstrom anschließend kondensiert und sein Energieinhalt ist damit weitgehend verloren.

Die Lösung:

Die mechanische Brüdenkompression ermöglicht die Rückführung dieses Energiestromes in den Prozess, indem man die Brüden auf höheren Druck und damit höheren Energieinhalt verdichtet. Die Brüden werden in den Heizraum des Verdampfers zurückgeführt, wo sie an den Verdampferrohren kondensieren. Die dabei frei werdende Energie beheizt somit indirekt das Produkt. Eine solche Anlage benötigt im Betrieb keinen Frischdampf mehr, sondern nur eine deutlich geringe Menge an elektrischer Energie für den Verdichter. Zusätzlich werden als Brüdenverdichter einstufige Radialventilatoren eingesetzt um den Energieverbrauch weiter zu minimieren. Der spezifische Energiebedarf einer Fallstrom-Eindampfanlage mit mechanischer Brüdenverdichtung liegt je nach Anwendungsfall bei 8 – 30 kWh pro 1000 kg verdampftem Wasser – auf jeden Fall mindestens 50 Prozent unter dem Energiebedarf konventionell beheizter Anlagen. Dieses Verfahrenskonzept ist bei Eindampfanlagen für viele flüssige Lebensmittelprodukte schon lange Stand der Technik. Die besondere Herausforderung bei dem Einsatz dieser Technologie für die Entalkoholisierung, stellt die leichte Flüchtigkeit von Alkohol sowie die Anwesenheit von Inertgasen (z. B. Kohlendioxid) dar, die die vollständige Kondensation der Brüden im Heizraum behindern. Dadurch war hier der Einsatz der mechanischen Brüdenverdichtung, insbesondere mit Ventilatoren, schwierig und unwirtschaftlich. Mit dem neuen Wiegand Technologiekonzept ist es nun gelungen, energieeffizient Wärme aus den verdampften Brüden zurückzugewinnen, so dass diese wieder zur Beheizung des Verdampfers eingesetzt werden kann. Das neue Konzept wurde von GEA Wiegand zum Patent angemeldet.

Die nachhaltigen Stärken:

Das neue Anlagenkonzept mit mechanischer Brüdenverdichtung spart über 50 Prozent an Energie im Vergleich zu herkömmlichem Verfahren. Durch die mechanische Brüdenkompression wird der Verbrauch an Energie gesenkt und somit auch die Umweltbelastung verringert.
Darüber hinaus gewährleistet das Entalkoholisierungsverfahren mit Eindampfanlagen durch die temperatursensitive Verfahrensführung ein geschmacklich und sensorisch ansprechendes alkoholfreies Getränkeprodukt. Die Stiftung Warentest zeichnete 06/2010 ein auf Wiegand Technologie produziertes alkoholfreies Weizenbier als Testsieger aus.

Kurzprofil des Unternehmens:

Name: GEA Wiegand GmbH
Hauptsitz: Ettlingen
Gründungsjahr: 1948
Mitarbeiter: 210
Lösungen:  GEA Wiegand ist einer der führenden Hersteller von Anlagen der thermisch-mechanischen Verfahrenstechnik mit Kernkompetenzen in Verdampfung, Destillation, Membranfiltration, Gasreinigung und Strahlpumpen– und Vakuumtechnik.
Der Leistungsumfang beinhaltet Beratung, Planung, Berechnung, Auslegung, Fertigung, Lieferung, Qualitätskontrolle, Inbetriebnahme und After Sales Service, Anlagen-erweiterung und Energieoptimierung.
GEA Wiegand verfügt über ein eigenes Forschungs- und Entwicklungszentrum mit zahlreichen Labor- und Technikumsanlagen.

Internationalität:  Das Unternehmen, eingebunden in die GEA Group AG, vertreibt seine Produkte weltweit über ein gut organisiertes Netz eigener Gesellschaften, Vertriebsbüros und Vertretungen.

URL: www.gea-wiegand.de