Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Energy-efficient slicers

How Bizerba customers can save money in times of increasing electricity prices

 

The challenge in terms of sustainability:

Many experts expect electricity costs to increase in the years to come. More than ever energy efficiency has become an important issue when purchasing new devices. That's why Bizerba, through years of research, has been looking for ways to reduce the energy consumption of slicing machines with the same level of performance.

The initial situation:

Our goal was to optimize the individual slicer modes that are stand-by, no-load operation and slicing mode. An example: Most slicers on the market work with a consistent engine power. For soft products the same amount of energy is used as for hard or fine products, therefore more than required. Here is a potential to significantly improve energy efficiency. Many food retailers allow the machine to run idle all day long providing a considerable savings potential.

The solution:

For the slicing mode two requirements had to be met: To retain the motor power with the highest possible energy efficiency in order to optimally slice hard product such as bacon. That's when our engineers in Balingen found a solution: an intelligent motor control system. The power electronics provides the motor with exactly the energy needed to slice the product. If an operator wants to process a product which is easy to slice the machine will detect a relatively low resistance and will provide the motor with less power. For heavier products the motor will be provided with full power and full torque. In addition, our engineers succeeded in the motor generating significantly less heat thereby saving additional energy.

The sustainable strengths:

Users profit from significant cost savings by a major reduction in energy consumption. The new slicer generation also stands out in some other areas. The intelligent motor control system more than pays for itself. Particularly noticeable is the quiet running of the machine, highly practical is the reduced heating up of the slicer and improved cleaning conditions. Last but not least Bizerba GSP and Validoline slicers set new standards in terms of carbon footprints.

The inventors:

Energy-efficient slicers are the result of many years of R&D by Bizerba's food processing engineers.

Brief profile of the company:

Name: Bizerba GmbH & Co. KG
Headquarters: Balingen
Year established: 1866
Employees: > 3.500
Solutions:  Weighing, labeling, information and foodservice technologies.
Internationality:  Production facilities: Vienna (Austria), Mendrisio (Switzerland), Milan (Italy), Shanghai (China), Joppa (USA) and San Luis Potosi (Mexico). Worldwide Bizerba is represented in 120 countries – with 41 shareholdings in 23 countries and 54 country representations.
URL:  www.bizerba.com

Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Energieeffiziente Schneidemaschinen

Wie Bizerba Kunden in Zeiten steigender Strompreise Kosten sparen

Die Herausforderung im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit:

Viele Experten gehen davon aus, dass sich die Stromkosten in den nächsten Jahren weiterhin massiv erhöhen werden. Entsprechend wird bei der Neuanschaffung von Geräten mehr denn je auf deren Energieeffizienz geachtet. Bizerba hat deswegen in jahrelanger Forschungsarbeit nach technischen Möglichkeiten gesucht, Schneidemaschinen bei gleicher Leistung weniger Energie verbrauchen zu lassen.

Die Ausgangssituation:

Es galt, die einzelnen Modi der Schneidemaschinen zu optimieren – d.h. Stand-By, Leerlauf und Schneide-Modus. Ein Beispiel: Die meisten Schneidemaschinen auf dem Markt arbeiten mit gleichbleibender Motorkraft. Bei weichem Schneidgut verbrauchen sie dadurch genauso viel Energie wie bei hartem, also mehr als notwendig. Hier liegt Potential, die Energieeffizienz wesentlich zu verbessern. Viele Lebensmittelhändler lassen die Maschinen zudem den ganzen Tag im Leerlauf, so dass auch dieser Modus Einsparpotential birgt. 

Die Lösung:

Für den Schneidemodus galt es, zwei Prämissen zu verbinden: Bei höchstmöglicher Energieeffizienz sollte die Motorkraft erhalten bleiben, um hartes Schneidgut wie Speck weiterhin optimal zu schneiden. Und dann haben die Entwickler in Balingen die Lösung gefunden: Eine intelligente Motorsteuerung. Dabei stellt die Leistungselektronik dem Motor exakt die Energie bereit, die er benötigt, um das Produkt zu schneiden. Legt der Mitarbeiter ein Produkt ein, das sich leicht schneiden lässt, registriert die Maschine den Widerstand und gibt entsprechend weniger Kraft an den Motor ab. Erst bei schweren Produkten entfaltet er dann seine volle Kraft, sein volles Drehmoment. Zudem haben es die Entwickler geschafft, dass sich der Motor deutlich weniger erwärmt und somit weitere Energie einspart

Die nachhaltigen Stärken:

Indem der Stromverbrauch deutlich reduziert wird, profitieren Anwender von signifikanten Kosteneinsparungen. Darüber beweist die neue Schneidemaschinen-Generation auch in anderen Disziplinen große Klasse. Die intelligente Motorsteuerung macht sich rundum bezahlt. Besonders auffällig ist der leise Lauf der Maschine, besonders praktisch die verringerte Erwärmung und die daraus resultierenden besseren Reinigungsbedingungen. Last but not least setzen Bizerba GSP und Validoline Schneidemaschinen in der CO2-Bilanz neue Maßstäbe.

Die Erfinder:

Führen Sie auf, wer maßgeblich für die Entwicklung der Innovation verantwortlich war
und erteilen Sie nach Absprache einige interessante Informationen rund um diese
Person.

Kurzprofil des Unternehmens:

Name:  Bizerba GmbH & Co. KG
Hauptsitz:  Balingen
Gründungsjahr: 1866
Mitarbeiter: >3.500
Lösungen:  Wäge-, Etikettier-, Informations- und Food-Service-Technik.
Internationalität:  Produktionsstätten: Wien (Österreich), Mendrisio (Schweiz), Mailand (Italien), Shanghai (China), Joppa (USA) und San Luis Potosi (Mexiko). Weltweit ist Bizerba in über 120 Ländern präsent – mit 41 Beteiligungen in 23 Ländern und 54 Landesvertretungen.
URL:  www.bizerba.com