Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

More efficient heating with microwaves

When producing fast cooking rice, microwave technology saves energy, time and money.

Challenge in terms of sustainability:

In terms of economic and ecologic sustainability, both time for production process as well as especially energy effort should be minimized when producing parboiled rice, fast cooking rice or instant rice.

Initial situation:

Conventional methods are time-consuming and energy intensive processes: First of all, the unpeeled rice is watered. After that, the surplus water is removed mechanically and the rice is left to rest for a while in order to achieve an equal moisture distribution. Afterwards, the rice is heated, mostly by conventional cooking. Finally, the rice is dried and packed.

The solution:

"Process and apparatus for the production of short cooking time rice (Patent WO 03/073867)"
The advantage of microwave technology compared to many other heating methods is that microwaves can penetrate products so that the heat inside the product is released. That way, long heating and treating times can be avoided. In the newly developed process, the rice firstly is peeled and then directly packed in a cooking bag. Afterwards, it is heated by microwaves without adding water. The natural residual moisture of app. 14 % which is contained in the rice produces when being heated a steam atmosphere inside the cooking bag in which pre-cooks the rice. After microwave treating, the rice is only cooled down and packed in a carton.

The sustainable advantages:

The new method makes superfluous the soaking for several hours and time-consuming drying. Consequence: enormous time saving up to 90 %.
Moreover, energy consumption is considerably lower – up to 70 % as especially the energy intensive drying process is omitted.
It was determined by the results of the X-ray diffraction analysis that the transformation rate of the crystalline phase of rice starch in amorphous form is higher in case of traditional pre-cooking than in case of microwave treatment (in this case, transformation rate is only 10-15 %).
Conclusion: The new method enables a more efficient and faster production and thus reduces the costs for producing fast cooking rice.

Inventors:

The new method was developed by Linn High Therm GmbH (Germany) and AboMill (Hungary) in collaboration with the Research Institute for technical chemistry, Veszprem (Hungary).
Mr. Horst Linn – president of Linn High Therm GmbH – engages himself in this subject for many years how to optimize production processes by microwave technology. He wrote numerous publications concerning this subject and is a popular speaker on international process engineering conferences.

Brief profile of the company:

Name: Linn High Therm GmbH
Headquarters: Eschenfelden
Year of foundation: 1969
Employees: app. 100
Solutions: electrically heated industry and laboratory furnaces, inductive melting and casting units as well as induction heating units, microwaves and vacuum furnaces
Internationality: service- and sales network in more than 50 countries all over the world

URL: www.linn.de

Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Effizienter erhitzen mit Mikrowellen

Bei der Produktion von Schnellkochreis spart Mikrowellentechnik Energie, Zeit- und Geld.

Die Herausforderung im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit:

Im Sinne wirtschaftlicher und ökologischer Nachhaltigkeit sollten bei der Herstellung von Parboiled Reis, Schnellkochreis oder Instantreis sowohl die Zeit für den Herstellungsprozess und insbesondere auch der Energieaufwand minimiert werden.

Die Ausgangssituation:

Die konventionellen Verfahren sind zeitaufwendige und energieintensive Prozesse: Zunächst wird der noch ungeschälte Reis gewässert. Anschließend entfernt man das überschüssige Wasser mechanisch und lässt den Reis für einige Zeit ruhen, um eine gleichmäßige Feuchtigkeitsverteilung zu erzielen. Danach erfolgt eine Wärmebehandlung, meist durch konventionelles Kochen. Schließlich wird der Reis getrocknet und verpackt.

Die Lösung:

"Process and apparatus for the production of short cooking time rice (Patent WO 03/073867)"
Der Vorteil der Mikrowellentechnik im Vergleich zu vielen anderen Erwärmungsmethoden liegt darin, dass Mikrowellen Produkte durchdringen können und daher die Wärme im Inneren des Produktes freisetzen. So können lange Aufheiz- sowie Behandlungszeiten vermieden werden. Im neuentwickelten Verfahren wird der Reis zunächst geschält und dann direkt in Kochbeuteln verpackt. Anschließend wird er ohne Wasserzugabe mittels Mikrowellen erhitzt. Die im Reis enthaltene natürliche Restfeuchte von circa 14 % erzeugt bei der Erhitzung innerhalb des Kochbeutels eine Dampfatmosphäre, in der der Reis vorgart. Nach der Mikrowellenbehandlung wird der Reis nur noch abgekühlt und im Karton verpackt.

Die nachhaltigen Vorteile:

Das neue Verfahren macht das mehrstündige Einweichen und zeitaufwändige Trocknen überflüssig. Die Folge: enorme Zeitersparnis bis zu 90 %.
Außerdem ist der Energieverbrauch deutlich niedriger – bis zu 70 %, da insbesondere der energieintensive
Trocknungsvorgang entfällt.
Anhand der Resultate der Röntgenstrahlbeugungsanalyse wurde festgestellt, dass der Umwandlungsgrad der kristallinen Phase der Reisstärke in amorpher Form beim traditionellen Vorkochen größer ist, als bei Mikrowellenbehandlung (in letzten Fall ist der Umwandlungsgrad nur 10-15%).
Fazit: Das neue Verfahren macht eine effizientere, schnellere Produktion möglich und verringert so die Kosten bei der Herstellung von Schnellkochreis.

Die Erfinder:

Das neue Verfahren wurde von Linn High Therm GmbH (Deutschland) und AboMill (Ungarn) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Forschungsinstitut für technische Chemie, Veszprem (Ungarn) entwickelt.
Herr Horst Linn - Geschäftsführer Linn High Therm GmbH beschäftigt sich seit vielen Jahren mit dem Thema, wie Mikrowellentechnologie Produktionsprozesse optimieren kann. Er hat zahlreiche Veröffentlichungen zu diesem Thema verfasst und ist ein gefragter Referent auf internationalen Verfahrenstechnik-Konferenzen.

Kurzprofil des Unternehmens:

Name: Linn High Therm GmbH
Hauptsitz: Eschenfelden
Gründungsjahr: 1969
Mitarbeiter: ca. 100
Lösungen: elektrisch beheizte Industrie- und Laboröfen, induktive Schmelz- und Gießanlagen sowie Induktionserwärmungsanlagen, Mikrowellen- und Vakuumöfen.
Internationalität: Service- und Vertriebsnetzwerk in 50 Ländern weltweit
URL: www.linn.de