Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

The RipTec-cutting process: New ways to machine solid wood

Leitz: A sustainable machining technology for a sustainable working material

The challenge in terms of sustainability:

Wood is the oldest working material in the history of mankind. This is due to its versatility and its excellent constructive features. Moreover, wood is the only renewable resource. It functions as a CO2-reservoir and has excellent insulating values. Therefore solid wood products often are the more sustainable solution in comparison to products of other material. In the last few years, many economic sectors have rediscovered the working material wood — including the modern construction sector. However, the many advantages of solid wood are confronted with one disadvantage: the inhomogeneous, fibrous structure of the working material. A real challenge for the processing.   

The initial situation:

When machining solid wood with conventional cutting procedures, often tear-outs and chippings come up, mainly if the tool knives work against the growth direction of the wood or if they encounter problem areas such as those around knots or annual ring zones. Consequence: solid wood applications cause a high reject rate, or you have to expect expensive manual extra work. In parallel, the tool knives are strongly stressed and wear quickly.

The solution:

On these premises, Leitz has designed the RipTec cutting system.  This involves innovative machining technology, which meets the demands of the structural characteristics of solid wood workpieces. While using the RipTec cutting system, a fine ripple profile is cut into the surface of a workpiece similar to a miniature washboard structure. It can be integrated into various typical solid wood applications. As a procedure to pre-cut during the planing of squared timber and during the profiling of furniture parts or floor panels, it allows an efficient and high quality finish in the second machining step. In the wooden windows business segment, it is used as a patented method of final cutting of the cross grain areas of the frame components, in which cutting quality and durability of the frame corner joint are increased. RipTec is used with different Leitz tooling systems and is used in many industrial companies and workshops.

The sustainable strengths:

Especially in the case of irregular fibre orientation, uncontrolled growth and cross grain machining, RipTec prevents tear-outs and chippings in the wood. By this, product quality, production speed and tool performance are increasing on the one hand. On the other hand, reject and rework are minimized. Even woods of so-called B-quality can be processed by RipTec, precious resources, which couldn't have been used by conventional machining procedures. Thus, the RipTec cutting method makes solid wood processing more efficient and reduces consumption of resources.

The inventors:
Development team under the leadership of Andreas Kisselbach.  Dipl.-Ing. Andreas Kisselbach has worked for the Leitz GmbH & Co.KG in Oberkochen since 1996 and is responsible for Research and Development within the Leitz Group.


Brief profile of the company:

Name: Leitz GmbH & Co. KG
Headquarters: Oberkochen / Germany
Year established: 1876
Employees: 3,300
Solutions: Precision tools and tooling systems for processing of wood and plastics
Internationality: 10 production facilities in Europe, Asia, North and South America, subsidiaries and sales offices in 36 countries, about 160 service centers


Founded in 1876 in Oberkochen, Southern Germany, the Leitz Group is the worldwide leading manufacturer of tools for industrial processing of wood, wood derived materials, plastic and compound materials. The Leitz product spectrum covers the complete range of precision tools for automated machines. In a complete package of advisory services, 3,300 Leitz employees pass on their experience of cutting tools to customers so meeting daily the requirements of a complete problem solver and producing service provider. Leitz products regularly are used in more than 150 countries on earth. By 10 production locations in Europe, Asia and America, Leitz sales companies and -offices in 36 countries, a close net of about 160 service stations with quick-production facilities as well as sales partners, Leitz is represented on all continents.

Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Das RipTec-Fräsverfahren: Neue Wege in der Massivholzbearbeitung

Leitz: Eine nachhaltige Bearbeitungstechnik für einen nachhaltigen Werkstoff

 

Die Herausforderung im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit:

Holz ist der älteste Werkstoff der Menschheitsgeschichte. Das verdankt es seiner Vielseitigkeit und seinen ausgezeichneten konstruktiven Eigenschaften. Darüber hinaus ist Holz der einzige nachwachsende Rohstoff. Es fungiert als CO2-Speicher und weist hervorragende Dämmwerte auf. Vollholzprodukte sind deshalb gegenüber Produkten aus anderen Materialien häufig die nachhaltigere Lösung. Viele Branchen haben in den letzten Jahren den Werkstoff Holz neu entdeckt, darunter auch das moderne Bauwesen. Jedoch steht den vielen Vorteilen von Vollholz ein Nachteil gegenüber: Die inhomogene, faserige Struktur des Werkstoffes. Eine echte Herausforderung für die Bearbeitung.

Die Ausgangssituation:

Bei der Vollholzbearbeitung mit herkömmlichen Fräsverfahren entstehen häufig Ausrisse und Absplitterungen, vor allem, wenn die Werkzeugschneiden entgegen der Wuchsrichtung des Holzes arbeiten oder auf Problemstellen wie Asthöfe oder Jahresringzonen treffen. Die Konsequenz: Bei Vollholzanwendungen ist mit einer hohen Ausschussquote bzw. mit teurer Nacharbeit von Hand zu rechnen. Parallel dazu werden die Werkzeugschneiden stark gefordert und verschleißen schnell.

Die Lösung:

Vor diesem Hintergrund hat Leitz das RipTec-Fräsverfahren entwickelt. Dabei handelt es sich um eine neuartige Bearbeitungstechnik, die den strukturellen Eigentümlichkeiten von Werkstücken aus Vollholz Rechnung trägt. Beim RipTec-Fräsverfahren wird ein feines Riffelprofil in die Oberfläche eines Werkstücks gefräst, ähnlich einer Waschbrettstruktur in Miniatur. Es lässt sich in mehrere typische Vollholz-Anwendungen integrieren: Als Verfahren zur Vorzerspanung beim Hobeln von Kantholz und beim Profilieren von Möbelteilen oder Fußbodenpaneelen ermöglicht es ein effizientes und qualitativ hochwertiges Finish im zweiten Bearbeitungsschritt. Im Bereich der Holzfenster wird es zudem als patentiertes Verfahren zur Endbearbeitung der Hirnholzflächen der Rahmenbauteile eingesetzt, wodurch Fräsqualität und Haltbarkeit der Rahmeneckverbindungen erhöht werden. RipTec wird mit unterschiedlichen Leitz-Werkzeugsystemen umgesetzt und in vielen Industrieunternehmen und Handwerksbetrieben eingesetzt.

Die nachhaltigen Stärken:

Speziell bei unregelmäßigem Faserverlauf, bei Wildwuchs und bei der Hirnholzbearbeitung vermeidet RipTec Ausrisse und Absplitterungen im Holz. Dadurch steigen einerseits Produktqualität, Produktionsgeschwindigkeit und Werkzeugstandwege. Andererseits sinken Ausschuss und Nacharbeit auf ein Minimum. Sogar Hölzer in sogenannter B-Qualität lassen sich mit RipTec bearbeiten, wertvolle Ressourcen, die bei konventionellen Bearbeitungsverfahren nicht hätten verwendet werden können.  Damit macht das RipTec-Fräsverfahren Prozesse in der Vollholzbearbeitung wirtschaftlicher und reduziert deren Ressourcenverbrauch.

Die Erfinder:

Entwicklungsgruppe unter Führung von Andreas Kisselbach. Dipl.-Ing. Andreas Kisselbach ist seit 1996 bei der Leitz GmbH & Co. KG in Oberkochen tätig und ist verantwortlich für den Bereich Forschung und Entwicklung in der Leitz-Gruppe.
 

Kurzprofil des Unternehmens:

Name: Leitz GmbH & Co. KG
Hauptsitz Oberkochen / Baden-Württemberg
Gründungsjahr: 1876
Mitarbeiter 3.300
Lösungen: Werkzeuge und Werkzeugsysteme für die maschinelle Holz- und Kunststoffbearbeitung
Internationalität: 10 Produktionsstandorte in Europa, Asien, Nord- und Südamerika, Vertriebsgesellschaften und -büros in 36 Ländern, rund 160 Servicestationen

Gegründet 1876 in Oberkochen/Süddeutschland, ist die Leitz-Gruppe der weltweit führende Hersteller von Werkzeugen zur professionellen zerspanenden Bearbeitung von Holz, Holzwerkstoffen, Kunststoff und Verbund-Materialien. Das Produktspektrum von Leitz umfasst das gesamte Sortiment an maschinengetriebenen Präzisionswerkzeugen. In einem vollständigen Paket an Beratungs- und Servicedienstleistungen geben die 3.500 Leitz-Mitarbeiter ihre ganze Erfahrung im Umgang mit Zerspanungswerkzeugen an die Leitz-Kunden weiter und verwirklichen so täglich die Ideale vom kompletten Problemlöser und produzierenden Dienstleister. Leitz-Produkte kommen in über 150 Ländern der Erde regelmäßig zum Einsatz. Mit zehn Produktionsstandorten in Europa, Asien und Amerika, Leitz-Vertriebsgesellschaften und -büros in 36 Ländern, einem dichten Netz von rund 160 Servicestationen mit angeschlossenen Schnellfertigungen sowie Vertriebspartnern ist Leitz auf allen Kontinenten vertreten.