Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

CO2-neutral climate control of a green-house and attached office building

Villa Flora – a huge glass building complex – sets standards for sustainable construction and protects the climate by heating with aquifer heat storage and heat pumps.

The challenge in terms of sustainability:

The building concept by the Dutch architect Jon Kristinsson was intended to prove that sustainable construction – as well as the juxtaposition of people and plants – has potential for urban development of the future, and that sustainability can be effectively implemented to protect the environment.

The initial situation:

Villa Flora was created for Floriade 2012, the World Horticultural Expo, held in Venlo (Netherlands). The complex consists primarily of glass, steel, concrete, and wood, and has a modular design with the result that these long-life elements can be later used for other buildings (the cradle-to-cradle principle). The building ensemble consists of a giant greenhouse with exhibition floor space, and an attached office building. Despite the extensive glazing of the structure, the building was designed to be climate-neutral and cost-effective.

The solution:

The resulting combination of a greenhouse and an office building is a pioneering achievement from the energetic standpoint and is CO2-neutral. To heat and cool the building, an underground long-term heat-storage system with two dual-well systems goes into action, in combination with HVAC systems from GEA Air Treatment und GEA Refrigeration Technologies. The building ensemble is cooled in summer by pumping cold water out of one well in the upstream well system. Via fan coil units (see Fig. 2: the GEA Flex-Geko units installed in the glasshouse section), the cooling water absorbs heat from the building and stores the heat in the second underground well. Until the following winter, this water will flow about onehundred-fifty meters to the second well system, from which it is removed for heating purposes. Since the water is not yet hot enough for heating, a heat pump raises its temperature to a usable level. The relatively high temperature in the well means that the heat pump (based on the GEA Grasso V700 piston compressor, see Fig. 3) can operate with extremely great efficiency: at Villa Flora, the coefficient of performance (COP) of the compressor is 7 ... 11. This means that one kilowatt-hour of electric power can create eleven kilowatt-hours of heat. An additional reason for the outstanding efficiency of the heat pump is the refrigerant used: ammonia (NH3). This natural refrigerant has no ozone-depletion potential and is highly energy-efficient.

GEA CAIR air handling units assure hygienic air-exchange. In the office rooms, air is supplied through outlets in the raised floors, which also serve for underfloor heating and ceiling cooling. Phase-change materials (PCM) provide internal temperature compensation in the air handling units.

The electric power for Villa Flora – and for operations of its heat pump – comes from solar panels. In addition, elevators generate power as they move downward. The remaining needed power comes from green sources.

The sustainable strengths:

Villa Flora is not only CO2-neutral: its surplus heat production is also sufficient to cover the heating requirements of "The Innovators," the neighboring building. As a result of systematic application of energy-saving technology in Villa Flora, and of its overall positive energy balance, its utilities and incidental expenses (often called the second rent) are low.

The inventors:

GEA Refrigeration Technologies
GEA Refrigeration Technologies, part of the internationally active GEA Group, has become synonymous with industrial refrigeration technology. Our solutions can be found in the food and beverage sector; in the petrochemical, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries; on fishing ships; in natural gas liquefaction; in infrastructure facilities; and in ice factories.  We also know what it takes to refrigerate leisure facilities.

GEA Air Treatment
GEA Air Treatment, a subsidiary of GEA Heat Exchangers, serves numerous applica-tion fields – from industrial air treatment, throughout commercial HVAC, and up to comfort HVAC. Core offerings consist of an extensive portfolio of central and decentral air handling units – such as used for factory shop floors, office buildings, and hotels – as well as separators and filter systems that cover requirements up to clean room facilities.

Brief profile of the company:

Name: GEA Heat Exchangers / GEA Refrigeration Technologies
Home office: Bochum (Germany)
Solutions provided: HVAC systems and refrigeration components and solutions for commerce and industry
Scope of activities:  international
URL: www.gea-heatexchangers.com / www.gearefrigeration.com

Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

CO2-neutrale Klimatisierung eines kombinierten Büro- und Gewächshauses

Gläserne Villa Flora setzt Standards für nachhaltiges Bauen und heizt klimaschonend mit Aquifer-Speicher und Wärmepumpe

Die Herausforderung im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit:

Das Gebäudekonzept des niederländischen Architekten Jon Kristinsson sollte beweisen, dass nachhaltiges Bauen sowie ein Zusammenführen von Mensch und Pflanze Potenzial für den Städtebau von morgen hat und klimaschonend umgesetzt werden kann.

Die Ausgangssituation:

Die Villa Flora entstand anlässlich der Weltgartenbauausstellung Floriade 2012 in Venlo. Das Objekt besteht überwiegend aus Glas, Stahl, Beton und Holz und ist modular gebaut, so dass sich die langlebigen Elemente für andere Bauten wiederverwenden ließen (cradle to cradle). Das Gebäudeensemble besteht aus einem riesigen Gewächshaus mit Ausstellungsflächen und einem angedockten Bürogebäude. Trotz der transparenten Glasarchitektur sollte der Betrieb des Gebäudes klimaneutral und wirtschaftlich sein.

Die Lösung:

Die Mischung aus Gewächs- und Bürohaus ist in energetischer Hinsicht vorbildlich und CO2-neutral. Zum Wärmen und Kühlen des Gebäudes tritt ein unterirdisches Langzeit-Wärmespeichersystem mit zwei Doppelbrunnenanlagen in Kombination mit der Klimatisierungstechnik von GEA Air Treatment und GEA Refrigeration Technologies in Aktion. Um das Gebäude im Sommer zu kühlen, wird kaltes Wasser aus einem Brunnen der vorderen Anlage nach oben gepumpt. Das Wasser nimmt über Gebläsekonvektoren, etwa die im „Gewächshaus" installierten Geräte GEA Flex-Geko, Wärme aus dem Gebäude auf und wird über den zweiten Brunnen unterirdisch eingespeichert. Bis zum Winter fließt das Wasser hundertfünfzig Meter zu der zweiten Brunnenanlage und wird dort zum Heizen entnommen. Da seine Temperatur zum Heizen noch nicht ausreicht, hebt die eine Wärmepumpe sie auf ein nutzbares Niveau. Wegen der hohen Quellentemperatur arbeitet die Wärmepumpe auf Basis des Kolbenkompressors GEA Grasso V700 höchst effizient: Ihr COP (Coefficient of Performance) liegt bei Villa Flora zwischen 7 und 11. Das bedeutet, dass mit einer Kilowattstunde Strom bis zu elf Kilowattstunden Wärme erzeugt werden können. Ein weiterer Grund für den herausragenden Wirkungsgrad der Wärmepumpe ist das verwendete Kältemittel Ammoniak (NH3). Dieses natürliche Kältemittel hat kein Ozonabbaupotenzial und ist sehr energieeffizient.
Für einen hygienischen Luftwechsel sorgen Zentrallüftungsgeräte GEA CAIR. In den Büroräumen erfolgt die Luftzufuhr über Bodenauslässe in Doppelböden, die zugleich als Fußbodenheizung und Kühldecke dienen. Für einen internen Temperaturausgleich in den Zentrallüftungsgeräten sorgen Latenzwärmespeicher (PCM / Phase Change Materials).
Den Strom für Villa Flora – somit auch zum Betrieb der Wärmepumpe – liefern Photovoltaikanlagen, zudem erzeugen die Fahrstühle beim Hinunterfahren Strom. Der darüber hinausgehende Bedarf an elektrischer Energie wird durch den Bezug von grünem Strom gedeckt.

Die nachhaltigen Stärken:

Villa Flora ist nicht nur CO2-neutral, ihre Wärmeproduktion reicht sogar, um auch den Heizbedarf des benachbarten Gebäudes („Innovatoren") zu decken. Aufgrund der konsequenten Nutzung von Energiespartechnik und der insgesamt positiven Energiebilanz ist die „zweite Miete", wie die Nebenkosten eines Gebäudes oft genannt werden, gering.

Die Erfinder:

GEA Refrigeration Technologies
GEA Refrigeration Technologies, Teil der weltweit tätigen GEA Group, ist ein Synonym für industrielle Kältetechnik. Unsere Lösungen finden Sie in der Lebensmittel- und Getränkebranche, in der petrochemischen, chemischen und pharmazeutischen Industrie, auf Fangschiffen, in der Erdgasverflüssigung oder im Infrastrukturwesen und in Eisfabriken. Auch mit der Kältetechnik für Freizeitstätten kennen wir uns bestens aus.

GEA Air Treatment
GEA Air Treatment, eine Tochtergesellschaft der GEA Heat Exchangers, deckt viele Anwendungsgebiete ab – von der industriellen Luftbehandlung über die gewerbliche Klimatisierung bis hin zur Komfortklimatisierung. Das Kernangebot besteht aus einem breiten Spektrum zentraler und dezentraler Luftbehandlungsgeräte, wie sie in Hallen, Bürogebäuden oder beispielsweise Hotels eingesetzt werden, sowie Abscheidern und Filteranlagen bis hin zu kompletten Reinraumsystemen.

Kurzprofil des Unternehmens:

Name: GEA Heat Exchangers / GEA Refrigeration Technologies
Hauptsitz: Bochum
Lösungen: Klimatechnische Geräte und kältetechnische Komponenten bzw. Lösungen für die Industrie und das Gewerbe
Internationalität: weltweit
URL: www.gea-heatexchangers.com / www.gearefrigeration.com