Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

An add-on heat pump converts heat emitted by refrigeration equipment into usable energy

A combination of a refrigeration unit and a heat pump re-duces energy requirements – particularly effective for the food and beverage sector.

The challenge in terms of sustainability:

The provision of heat and refrigeration is critical in many operations for the processing of food and beverages: e.g., in dairy processing. Rising energy costs and increasing climate and environment consciousness of the operators and final customers have motivated investors to organize food production – and the associated technical pro-cesses – to increasingly conserve resources and to protect the climate. They expect solutions that leave behind a minimal specific CO2 footprint (CO2 emissions per kg of product).

The initial situation:

Refrigeration and heat provision are generally considered separately. Even in the dairy sector – in which there is a great time overlap of cooling and heating needs for milk and milk products – their supply has until now been technically separate. The focus of efforts was primarily on efficiency enhancement of the separate, individual systems, in which the dairy industry is especially and greatly systematic in its solutions. This isolated viewpoint neglected potentials for savings of energy and costs and for elimination of emissions. The heat of condensation in such refrigeration plants (as a rule, large refrigeration capacities, > 1 MW, are installed) occurs at a low temperature level. It is expelled into the environment, and process heat is produced with the use of fossil fuels.

The solution:

The add-on heat pump is the logical solution from a comprehensive mode of thinking: here, simultaneous provision of refrigeration and heat is considered as an overall process. An add-on heat pump allows utilization of condensation heat from a refrigeration unit at approx. 35 °C, as the heat source of a heat pump. This "hot" source very effectively enables a temperature level of, for example, 80 °C at the output side of a heat pump. Water at this temperature is suitable as hot process water (e.g., for intermediate heating or pasteurization), or is highly effective for room heating and sanitary use. The principle of the add-on heat pump can be basically and effectively applied for all areas of food and beverages where refrigeration and heating are simultaneously required. In the range between 60 and 80 °C, the technically feasible hot-water temperature depends here only on usage requirements: e.g., heating of tanks for margarine production, hot water supply for cleaning in the meat-processing industry, and much more. The user of a refrigeration unit that is simultaneously used for a heat pump enjoys considerable added value. In this add-on solution, the refrigeration and heat-pump components use a common refrigerant cycle in which the hot side of the refrigeration unit is connected to the cold side of the heat pump. This significantly increases the overall efficiency of the refrigeration system and sustainably lowers the CO2 footprint of a product. Application of the heat pump minimizes the requirement for fossil fuels (e.g., gas) for production of heat. Since, thanks to the already available hot source, the supply of heat by the heat pump functions with appreciably less energy consumption than for heat from fossil fuels, CO2 emissions are significantly less (also under consideration of fuel needed for the generation of the required electrical power) – which reduces costs.
Application of the add-on heat pump amortizes itself within a few years. The use of ammonia as refrigerant, in addition, can be used equally for provision of refrigeration and heat, owing to the outstanding material properties (ODP/GWP = 0) and great effi-ciency of ammonia.

The sustainable strengths:

Use of an add-on heat pump can minimize the consumption of fossil fuels for many and various production processes, especially in the food and beverage sector. This saves resources and has a cost-reduction effect. Even if heat is required at a higher temperature than the heat pump can supply, energy consumption for reaching the required temperature is less than for purely conventional solutions with gas boilers. With the design described here, the efficiency of heat supply via the add-on heat pump is considerably higher than heating hot water or steam by fossil fuels. This solution reduces operational expense and eliminates up to 40 % of CO2 emissions (basis of calculations: CO2 emissions with the power mix prevailing currently in Germany). Energy savings cancel out the costs for purchase and installation of add-on heat pumps after only a few years. The combination of one or more refrigeration units with an add-on heat pump is therefore economically attractive. Companies aiming for maximum climate protection can, in addition, use power from regenerative sources to supply cooling and heat, which minimizes CO2 emissions. Producers who in this way organize their production in a more climate-friendly manner can manufacture their products cheaper and satisfy their customers' expectations for resource-saving goods.

The inventors:

GEA Refrigeration Technologies
GEA Refrigeration Technologies, part of the internationally active GEA Group, is a synonym for industrial refrigeration technology. Starting as long ago as the end of the 19th century, it has been our business to cool processes and products and to temperature-control transported goods. You will find our solutions in the food and beverage sectors; in the petrochemical, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries; on fishing ships; in natural gas liquefaction; in infrastructure facilities; and in ice plants. We have likewise gained the best experience for refrigeration in leisure facilities. In fact: refrigeration has been our passion for many decades. As a result, our colleagues are enthusiastically at work in development and production – as well as in the preventive and remedial maintenance of your refrigeration equipment.

Brief profile of the company:

Name: GEA Refrigeration Technologies
Headquarters: Bochum, Germany
Year established: 1896
Employees: 3,147
Solutions: refrigeration components and solutions
Internationality: global
URL: www.gearefrigeration.com

Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Add-on-Wärmepumpe macht Abwärme von Kältemaschinen zu nutzbarer Wärme

Kombination aus Kältemaschinen und Wärmepumpe senkt den Energiebedarf. Besonders geeignet für die Lebensmittelbranche.

Die Herausforderung im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit:

Die Bereitstellung von Kälte und Wärme ist in vielen lebensmittelverarbeitenden Betrieben wie z.B. der Milchverarbeitung unabdingbar. Steigende Energiekosten und ein zunehmendes Klima- und Umweltbewusstsein der Betreiber sowie der Endkunden haben Investoren motiviert, die Lebensmittelproduktion - und damit auch die sie begleitenden technischen Prozesse - ressourcenschonender und klimafreundlicher zu gestalten. Gefragt sind Lösungen, die einen möglichst geringen spezifischen CO2-Footprint hinterlassen (CO2-Emissionen pro kg Produkt).

Die Ausgangssituation:
Kälte- und Wärmeerzeugung wird in der Regel separat betrachtet. Auch in der Milchbranche, wo es eine hohe zeitliche Überdeckung von Kälte- und Wärmebedarf (Kühlen und Erhitzen von Milch/Milchprodukten) gibt, fand bisher eine technisch getrennte Bereitstellung statt. Wichtig war in erster Linie die Effizienzsteigerung der einzelnen Systeme, bei der insbesondere die Milchindustrie sehr konsequent ist. Diese isolierte Betrachtung ließ Potenzial zur Energie- und Kosteneinsparung sowie zur Vermeidung von Emissionen ungenutzt. Die Kondensationswärme der Kälteanlagen (in der Regel sind große Kälteleistungen von >1 MW installiert) die auf niedrigem Niveau anfällt, wird ungenutzt an die Umgebung abgeführt und Prozesswärme unter Einsatz fossiler Brennstoffe erzeugt.

Die Lösung:

Die Add-on-Wärmepumpe ist die logische Konsequenz aus einem ganzheitlichen Denken, denn hier werden die zeitgleiche Kälte- und Wärmebereitstellung als Gesamtprozess betrachtet. Durch eine „Add-on-Wärmepumpe" lässt sich die Kondensationswärme der Kältemaschinen von etwa 35 °C als Wärmequelle einer Wärmepumpe nutzen. Mit dieser „warmen" Quelle lässt sich sehr effektiv ein Temperaturniveau von beispielsweise 80 °C auf der Abgabeseite der Wärmepumpe erreichen. Wasser dieser Temperatur ist geeignet als Prozessheißwasser (Zwischenanwärmung/Pasteurisierung) oder auch gut nutzbar für Heizung und Sanitärbereich. Das Prinzip der Add-on-Wärmepumpe eignet sich grundsätzlich für alle Lebensmittelbetriebe, in denen es gleichzeitig Kälte- und Wärmebedarf gibt. Die technisch erzielbare Heißwassertemperatur hängt dabei im Bereich zwischen 60 °C und 80 °C nur von den Nutzungsanforderungen ab (Heizen von Tanks in der Margarineproduktion; Warmwasserbereitstellung zu Reinigungszwecken in der Fleischverarbeitung u.v.m.). Die Kälteanlage erfährt bei gleichzeitiger Nutzung als Wärmepumpe einen beachtlichen Mehrwert. Die Komponenten Kältemaschine und Wärmepumpe nutzen bei der „Add-on-Lösung" einen gemeinsamen Kältemittelkreislauf, in dem die „warme" Seite der Kältemaschinen mit der „kalten" Seite der Wärmepumpe verbunden ist. Der Gesamtwirkungsgrad der Kälteanlage kann damit erheblich gesteigert und der CO2-Fußabdruck eines Produktes nachhaltig gesenkt werden. Der Einsatz der Wärmepumpe minimiert den Bedarf an fossilem Brennstoff (zum Beispiel Gas) zur Wärmeerzeugung. Da die Wärmebereitstellung mit der Wärmepumpe dank der bereits warmen Quelle zudem mit deutlich geringerem energetischem Aufwand als bei der Wärmeerzeugung mit fossilen Brennstoffen funktioniert, fallen die CO2-Emissionen deutlich geringer aus (auch unter Berücksichtigung des Brennstoffeinsatzes zur Stromproduktion) und die Kosten werden reduziert.
Der Einsatz der Add-on-Wärmepumpe amortisiert sich bereits innerhalb weniger Jahre. Durch die Verwendung von Ammoniak als Kältemittel können zudem dessen hervorragende Stoffeigenschaften (ODP/GWP = 0) und hohe Effizienz gleichermaßen zur Kälte-und Wärmebereitstellung genutzt werden.

Die nachhaltigen Stärken:

Durch den Einsatz einer Add-on-Wärmepumpe kann der Einsatz fossiler Brennstoffe bei diversen Produktionsprozessen, insbesondere in Betrieben der Lebensmittelbranche, minimiert werden. Dies schont Ressourcen und wirkt kostensenkend. Selbst wenn Wärme auf einem höheren Temperaturniveau benötigt wird, als von der Wärmepumpe zur Verfügung gestellt werden kann, ist der Energieeinsatz zum Erreichen der Zieltemperatur geringer als bei rein konventionellen Lösungen mit Gaskesseln. Bei dem beschriebenen Design ist der Wirkungsgrad der Wärmebereitstellung über die Add-on-Wärmepumpe deutlich höher ist als beim Erzeugen von Warmwasser oder Dampf durch fossile Brennstoffe. Bei geringeren Betriebskosten können bis zu 40 % der CO2-Emissionen vermieden werden (Basis: CO2-Emissionen bei dem Strom-Mix in Deutschland). Die Kosten für die Anschaffung und Installation der Add-on-Wärmepumpe werden bereits binnen weniger Jahre durch die Energieeinsparung kompensiert. Die Kombination einer oder mehrerer Kältemaschinen mit einer Add-on-Wärmepumpe ist daher wirtschaftlich attraktiv. Betriebe, die maximalen Klimaschutz anstreben, können zudem Strom aus regenerativen Quellen zum Bereitstellen von Kälte und Wärme nutzen und so die CO2-Emissionen minimieren. Anbieter, die auf diese Weise ihre Produktion klimafreundlicher gestalten, können ihre Produkte preiswerter fertigen und dem Wunsch der Kunden nach ressourcenschonend hergestellter Ware nachkommen.

Die Erfinder:

GEA Refrigeration Technologies
Die GEA Refrigeration Technologies, Teil der weltweit tätigen GEA Group, ist ein Synonym für industrielle Kältetechnik. Schon seit Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts ist es unser Geschäft, Prozesse und Produkte zu kühlen oder Transportgut zu temperieren. Unsere Lösungen finden Sie in der Lebensmittel- und Getränkebranche, in der petrochemischen, chemischen und pharmazeutischen Industrie, auf Fangschiffen, in der Erdgasverflüssigung oder im Infrastrukturwesen und in Eisfabriken. Auch mit der Kältetechnik für Freizeitstätten kennen wir uns bestens aus. Denn für uns ist Kälte seit Jahrzehnten Passion. Mit Leidenschaft sind daher unsere Mitarbeiter in der Entwicklung und Fertigung bei der Sache und ebenso bei der Instandhaltung und Wartung Ihrer kältetechnischen Anlagen.

Kurzprofil des Unternehmens:

Name: GEA Refrigeration Technologies
Hauptsitz: Bochum
Gründungsjahr: 1896
Mitarbeiter: 3.147
Lösungen: Kältetechnische Komponenten und Lösungen
Internationalität: weltweit
URL: www.gearefrigeration.com